PDA

View Full Version : Title Locked by Template


joesp
12-10-2008, 03:11 AM
I'm sure this must have been addressed somewhere along the line, but I haven't been able to find it in any of the threads. I created this site:

www.silversaltmarketing.com (http://www.silversaltmarketing.com)

using a template. I had titled the template as "Silversalt Template" in the Page Properties tab. (I have since removed this, in an effort to fix the problem, but it didn't help.) Now all of my pages say "Silversalt Template" across the top of the page as the Title. When I attempt to enter the correct page Title into the file, I am given the warning "Making this change would require changing code that is locked by a template or translator. The change will be discarded."

How do I get rid of this lock? Can I make the title an editable region in the template?

Thanks in advance!

edbr
12-10-2008, 03:16 AM
yes you must make any item you want to change in idividual pages editable regions

joesp
12-10-2008, 03:22 AM
How do you make the Title part of the Page Property an editable region since it isn't in the normal display window? Anytime I try to create an editable region it shows up within the page view, not in the Title Box.

edbr
12-10-2008, 03:31 AM
<!-- TemplateBeginEditable name="doctitle" -->
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<!-- TemplateEndEditable -->

joesp
12-10-2008, 04:26 AM
When I try to update the dependent template files I'm getting the message "There is an error at line 21, column 30 . . .: Nested editable regions." Did I place the code into the correct spot? I'm still unable to edit the Title in the dependent template files.


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<!-- TemplateBeginEditable name="doctitle" -->
<title>Untitled</title>
<!-- TemplateEndEditable -->

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function MM_preloadImages() { //v3.0
var d=document; if(d.images){ if(!d.MM_p) d.MM_p=new Array();
var i,j=d.MM_p.length,a=MM_preloadImages.arguments; for(i=0; i<a.length; i++)
if (a[i].indexOf("#")!=0){ d.MM_p[j]=new Image; d.MM_p[j++].src=a[i];}}
}
//-->
</script>
<link href="../ssm_master_style03.css" rel="stylesheet" />
<body class="twoColFixLtHdr">


Thank you for looking at this.

edbr
12-10-2008, 04:33 AM
try replace with this
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<!-- TemplateBeginEditable name="doctitle" -->
<title>Untitled</title>
<!-- TemplateEndEditable -->

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function MM_preloadImages() { //v3.0
var d=document; if(d.images){ if(!d.MM_p) d.MM_p=new Array();
var i,j=d.MM_p.length,a=MM_preloadImages.arguments; for(i=0; i<a.length; i++)
if (a[i].indexOf("#")!=0){ d.MM_p[j]=new Image; d.MM_p[j++].src=a[i];}}
}
//-->
</script>
<link href="../ssm_master_style03.css" rel="stylesheet" />
</head>
<body class="twoColFixLtHdr">

joesp
12-10-2008, 04:43 AM
Thank you, that did it!