PDA

View Full Version : Remove a link "ugly blue box" from a linked image...


CaliWilli
12-09-2008, 11:05 PM
I think the title says it all. I tried to search through old threads but my mouse won't follow the link, anybody know why that might be, it says the URL in the whatever-its-called bar above the task bar when I hover, but when I click nothing happens.

edbr
12-10-2008, 01:22 AM
some code please

Corrosive
12-10-2008, 07:14 AM
I think the title says it all. I tried to search through old threads but my mouse won't follow the link, anybody know why that might be, it says the URL in the whatever-its-called bar above the task bar when I hover, but when I click nothing happens.

Removing your blue box is easy. It's an Internet Explorer default to put blue boxes around image links...unless you tell it otherwise. If you include the styles...

img {
border: 0;
}

...in your CSS it should cure it.

edbr
12-10-2008, 07:24 AM
he is saying the links arent working though isnt he?

domedia
12-10-2008, 02:10 PM
I think the title says it all. I tried to search through old threads but my mouse won't follow the link, anybody know why that might be, it says the URL in the whatever-its-called bar above the task bar when I hover, but when I click nothing happens.
You can't ask us to fix something we cannot see :)
URL?

Corrosive
12-10-2008, 05:10 PM
he is saying the links arent working though isnt he?

I didn't think so. The title was 'remove the blue box from linked image' and the first bit of the post said 'title says it all'. Then he went on to say that he had tried to search old threads here but he couldn't follow the link...

...it was very early this morning I read it.

Answered the 'blue box' question anyway :wink:

domedia
12-10-2008, 07:20 PM
We'll all find out in a little.. :)

CaliWilli
12-11-2008, 05:14 AM
Thanks corrosive, that was the fix for the blue box thing, and you nailed my concern about linking to 'search old posts'.

About providing a URL, I havn't put it on a server yet, It's my first site and I'm creating it on another computer's local drive that isn't online at all. I know, I know. It should be up within the next week or so, and I promise to include enough mistakes for everyone.

Corrosive
12-11-2008, 06:52 AM
Thanks corrosive, that was the fix for the blue box thing, and you nailed my concern about linking to 'search old posts'.

Hey, no problem. I guess that means I win?

CaliWilli
12-29-2008, 10:58 PM
Here it is, please be brutally honest with me.

http://www.ksheaelectric.com

Some issues I've noticed.

1)Sometimes I have to refresh to get all of the graphical elements on the page.

2) I have only been able to see it in IE beta, FF, and Opera. If anyone can tell me how it works in any other browsers I would appreciate it.

Thanks for all of your help.

coloeagle
12-29-2008, 11:51 PM
OK in FF2, not so good in IE7

Try using http://browsershots.org/

CaliWilli
12-30-2008, 01:04 AM
That's a great resource, thanks!!!

Noodles08
02-21-2009, 02:48 PM
Removing your blue box is easy. It's an Internet Explorer default to put blue boxes around image links...unless you tell it otherwise. If you include the styles...

img {
border: 0;
}...in your CSS it should cure it.

Hi, I'm new here btw...:wink:
I'm already doing an all day search across the internet, but I can't seem to find a clear solution.
I'm having the same problem with blue or red borders around my linked images (in FF and IE) I've already set de borders to "none" in css ( " a img ")
But it just doesn't work. Also I've tried to include img { border: 0 }. But still no results.
Is it because I've put the code in de wrong area?
thnx!

domedia
02-21-2009, 05:59 PM
Is it because I've put the code in de wrong area?
thnx! I looked at your code and it all looked correct ;)

Noodles08
02-22-2009, 07:04 PM
I looked at your code and it all looked correct ;)

Allright sorry... this is my code:

This is the new css rule i've included:

}
a img {
border-top-style: none;
border-right-style: none;
border-bottom-style: none;
border-left-style: none;
}



and this is part of my html:

<style type="text/css">
<!--
body {
background-color: #000;
background-image: url(images/backgr4.jpg);
background-repeat: repeat-x;
text-decoration: none;
}
-->
</style>
<link href="css/layout.ccs.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function MM_preloadImages() { //v3.0
var d=document; if(d.images){ if(!d.MM_p) d.MM_p=new Array();
var i,j=d.MM_p.length,a=MM_preloadImages.arguments; for(i=0; i<a.length; i++)
if (a[i].indexOf("#")!=0){ d.MM_p[j]=new Image; d.MM_p[j++].src=a[i];}}
}

function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01
var p,i,x; if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) {
d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);}
if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[i][n];
for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers[i].document);
if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;
}

function MM_nbGroup(event, grpName) { //v6.0
var i,img,nbArr,args=MM_nbGroup.arguments;
if (event == "init" && args.length > 2) {
if ((img = MM_findObj(args[2])) != null && !img.MM_init) {
img.MM_init = true; img.MM_up = args[3]; img.MM_dn = img.src;
if ((nbArr = document[grpName]) == null) nbArr = document[grpName] = new Array();
nbArr[nbArr.length] = img;
for (i=4; i < args.length-1; i+=2) if ((img = MM_findObj(args[i])) != null) {
if (!img.MM_up) img.MM_up = img.src;
img.src = img.MM_dn = args[i+1];
nbArr[nbArr.length] = img;
} }
} else if (event == "over") {
document.MM_nbOver = nbArr = new Array();
for (i=1; i < args.length-1; i+=3) if ((img = MM_findObj(args[i])) != null) {
if (!img.MM_up) img.MM_up = img.src;
img.src = (img.MM_dn && args[i+2]) ? args[i+2] : ((args[i+1])? args[i+1] : img.MM_up);
nbArr[nbArr.length] = img;
}
} else if (event == "out" ) {
for (i=0; i < document.MM_nbOver.length; i++) {
img = document.MM_nbOver[i]; img.src = (img.MM_dn) ? img.MM_dn : img.MM_up; }
} else if (event == "down") {
nbArr = document[grpName];
if (nbArr)
for (i=0; i < nbArr.length; i++) { img=nbArr[i]; img.src = img.MM_up; img.MM_dn = 0; }
document[grpName] = nbArr = new Array();
for (i=2; i < args.length-1; i+=2) if ((img = MM_findObj(args[i])) != null) {
if (!img.MM_up) img.MM_up = img.src;
img.src = img.MM_dn = (args[i+1])? args[i+1] : img.MM_up;
nbArr[nbArr.length] = img;
} }
}
//-->
</script></head>

<body>
<div id="main">
<div id="logo "><a href="index.html"><img src="images/titel.jpg" alt="logo" width="311" height="108" border="0" /></a></div>
<div id="navigationbar">
<table border="0" align="right" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>


Do you know where I need to put the code: img: border=0 ?
thanks!
Suzanne

Corrosive
02-22-2009, 07:41 PM
Do you know where I need to put the code: img: border=0 ?
thanks!
Suzanne

Hi Suzanne

Try changing...

a img {
border-top-style: none;
border-right-style: none;
border-bottom-style: none;
border-left-style: none;
}

to

a img {
border: 0;
}

That should do it (hopefully)

Noodles08
02-22-2009, 07:50 PM
Hi Suzanne

Try changing...

a img {
border-top-style: none;
border-right-style: none;
border-bottom-style: none;
border-left-style: none;
}to

a img {
border: 0;
}That should do it (hopefully)


Hi there,

Unfortunately that doesn't work either :-(

Corrosive
02-22-2009, 07:51 PM
Hi there,

Unfortunately that doesn't work either :-(


A link might be helpful.

Noodles08
02-22-2009, 07:53 PM
it's not on a server yet, so I can't show really you (my existing website is different than the one I'm building now).

kind regards
Suzanne

d a v e
02-22-2009, 08:06 PM
upload it to a test folder

like yoururl.com/testing ...

domedia
02-22-2009, 08:44 PM
If that code does not work, there's something else overriding it, or you did something wrong.
Until we can see it, that's as good as it gets :)

Noodles08
02-22-2009, 08:46 PM
upload it to a test folder

like yoururl.com/testing ...


You don't know how good of an advice that is....:-D
It seems that after I've put in on the server the problems are solved.
So probably the blue/red square is only active when I preview the site locally.
But, you can still check if you like:http://suzannenaomi.com/test.html. I've haven't checked it in IE yet as I don't have this browser. But in FF it seems fine now.
Thanks a lot!

d a v e
02-22-2009, 09:38 PM
try this for testing in IE - *possibly* not as good as a 'native' install but the next best thing
http://www.my-debugbar.com/wiki/IETester/HomePage