PDA

View Full Version : Browser issues


hummer2001
11-26-2008, 08:11 AM
Hi,

Im having some trouble with layout on a site im creating. The site can be found here:

http://www.nthdegree.ie/Samples/ClunyWeb/

(Its unfinished so may have a few broken links)

The problem is in different browsers the Page title (e.g. 'Letter from the Principal') is being rendered in different places, up near the top for firefox/safari and a little further down for IE. Is there a way to fix this?

The other problem is a flash embed not validating. Ive seen somewhere that you can use <object> tags, but I havent been able to find a good example. Here is my current code:


<embed src="/Samples/ClunyWeb/13octShow.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="990" height="246"></embed>


Any help on either of these matters appreciated.
Thanks.

coloeagle
11-26-2008, 12:04 PM
I checked your page out in FF2, IE6 and Opera8. I didn't see much difference in the positioning. Try removing all the margin and padding declarations from the headertextcopy class in the css, add a line-height:140%; and check the page in the browsers.

For the flash issue give this a try;

<object title="Your title" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="/site/Samples/ClunyWeb/13octShow.swf">
<param name="movie" value="/site/Samples/ClunyWeb/13octShow.swf" />
<noscript><p><img alt="" src="image.jpg" height="246" width="990" /></p></noscript></object>

hummer2001
11-26-2008, 01:50 PM
Hi Coloeagle,

Tried the changes to the css, and unfortunately didnt make much difference. yet to try the flash code, but im after doing someting to my
AC_RunActiveContent.js paths, my flash isnt showing up properly any more :confused: . Flash movie seems to work when I make the path relative to the document, but not the site root. This is ok for the initial pages, because the relative to document path is of the form ../flashmovie.swf , but when i make it relative to the site root, it wont play in dreamweaver or browser. Was working yesterday, any ideas? I think it may have somthing to do with the Script file path, but not sure what. The Script file is present on the server as is the flashmovie:confused:

I know this is a common issue, but i have checked all the normal solutions. Anyones input is welcome. Thank you.

hummer2001
11-26-2008, 07:14 PM
Have it sorted was working from two different machines and had the roots set up in an extra directory on one of them. Silly me! Going to take a look at your flash code now.