PDA

View Full Version : Database is only displaying one entry

dkco
11-24-2008, 09:51 AM
Hi all, I posted a little while ago on the General board and have made a lot of progress since then, but I'm hitting another roadblock (hopefully my last). I have a site where a student can type in their student number, click Search and be presented with their name, level number, class times, etc. I finally figured out enough phpmyadmin to put together a database and got it plugged into Dreamweaver. I think I'm set up correctly, but no matter what student number I type into the blank I'm only being presented with one record. Here's my setup (and keep in mind I have zero experience doing this):

1) My main page has a single line text field. It also has a Search button with the action 'submit form'. That's all in a red dotted-line box with the action 'getresults.php'. My method is GET (but I've tried POST, too).

2) getresults.php has a text block saying 'Student Name' and a light blue {} field next to it that says {Recordset1.name}. I don't know how to code myself, so under Bindings I put a new query called Recordset1. My connection is good, as is my table. I have columns set to just display the name (till I get my problem worked out). And then under filters, I want to display the name of a student based on what student number (snumber) they typed into the field. Here's the code if you're interested:

mysql_select_db($database_dbconfig, $dbconfig);
$query_Recordset1 = "SELECT name FROM test WHERE snumber = snumber";
$Recordset1 = mysql_query($query_Recordset1, $dbconfig) or die(mysql_error());
$row_Recordset1 = mysql_fetch_assoc($Recordset1);
$totalRows_Recordset1 = mysql_num_rows($Recordset1);

So for some reason it's only displaying the first name in my database, no matter what 'snumber' I enter. Any thoughts?

David

dkco
11-24-2008, 11:46 AM