PDA

View Full Version : Setup existing DW site in new computer


kremo5le
11-21-2008, 03:29 PM
Hello there,

I found a similar post for this question, but it was for somebody that knows Dreamweaver.

I need to work with a site already created and running. The site was designed with Adobe tools including DW, and I need to sync it with my computer. I created the folders and stuff, but I want to make sure I'm doing the right thing.

How do I do this properly? If I connect to the site via FTP, will it sync the site with my computer automatically?

Also, I think this designer used some PHP technology. What am I up to as far as this? Do I need to work on a special setup?

Thank you very much for your help,

kRem ;-)

domedia
11-21-2008, 03:44 PM
If you have a custom built PHP site, then you should only use DW as a code editor. I guess you will not be able to use DW's PHP functionality to manage the PHP. So in that case, you might as well use a regular code editor.

kremo5le
11-21-2008, 04:09 PM
Hello there.As I work, I continue modifying the post so we don't have useless posts.

First of all, thank you for your reply. I could sync the website and my computer, but now the files are locked. How do I unlock them?

I understand the about the PHP stuff.

Thank you,

kRem