PDA

View Full Version : preview error from browser


babar
11-19-2008, 11:54 PM
ok, having a problem previewing my page in my browser (firefox)
from dreamweaver.

i get the following error > URL cannot be found, "site.com/httpdocs/index.html
cannot be found on this server. which is impossible, because im lookin right at
it in dreamweaver, AND manually uploaded it via an ftp client. not to mention
that if i type the url in manually ("site.com") the page comes up no
problem. so, what is dreamweavers deal with the httpdocs folder when trying
to preview from it?

ahh, not to mention that when i first started working on this site, it used to preview just fine.

edbr
11-20-2008, 12:43 AM
link should be site.com/index.html. httpdocs is the root folder of your site

domedia
11-20-2008, 12:45 AM
'httpdocs' is not part of the url, it's the directory on your server where all the web files go.

edit: yeah what Rob said :)

babar
11-20-2008, 02:53 AM
link should be site.com/index.html. httpdocs is the root folder of your site


i understand that edbr:) so how do i tell the preview option in dreamweaver
what the link is? ive looked for an option to tell it what the link is for the
preview option, but havnt found a way to change it. the only option
i see in the preview menu is which browser to use.

edbr
11-20-2008, 03:29 AM
check how you have defined your site >manage sites.

Cary
11-20-2008, 03:32 AM
Double-check the paths in DW's site definition.

babar
11-20-2008, 04:01 AM
awsome guys, that solved that:) your the best! i have one more
question, when i validated what ive done so far, i have lot of
errors in the code for tables and background image attributes
for [XHTML 1.0 transitional]

example> the tag: "table" doesn't have an attribute "height" in currently
active versions.[XHTML 1.0 transitional].

is this something to worry about?

d a v e
11-20-2008, 01:56 PM
yes ;)

domedia
11-20-2008, 02:43 PM
*cough* maybe ;) It will still work in all browsers..
Now if you're using tables to design your website; you have a larger problem :D

babar
11-20-2008, 08:23 PM
*cough* maybe ;) It will still work in all browsers..
Now if you're using tables to design your website; you have a larger problem :D


yes, the site works just fine in my browser (firefox), but i am using tables
to design my site, thats how im defining my image placement. but the tables
are simple, just a table and a background image. i really dont see what the
problem is with its height, the dimensions are defined by pixels to exactly
match the size of the images im using. for example >

first table in the page is 340 pixels in hight, and 819 pixels in width.

why would this be a problem?

domedia
11-21-2008, 12:57 PM
I don't think it's a big problem. It's an attribute that is not part of the W3C standards, but which many browsers support. If a browser does not recognize an attribute, it will simply ignore it.