PDA

View Full Version : Centered Layout

wolfmanbc
11-17-2008, 10:01 PM
I am trying to design a site where everything is centered. The best example I can give is Collegehumor.com. When you expand the browser window everything aligns within the window to remain centered.

I am new to web design and I am having trouble reaching this result. If i center the background it looks right but the tables I've created don't line up when I expand the browser, they both attempt to stay centered but the relative position to each other changes. I feel like this has to be an easy solution but since I'm new to this I just don't know what to do.

I've played with cell padding (using %) on the tables but I dont know how to do that with the background, I dont know if this is the solution or not, Im looking for any help someone can offer on the subject, thanks.

I just want to line up my text inside the right border of my bg image and have it stay there no matter the browser window size.

Chapo
11-18-2008, 01:44 AM
Thats simple.... you need to add CSS to center you table. just add a new rule and name it, then with your box option put the margins to auto. Thats all.
Thers is a tutorial here in DW Club for this.

wolfmanbc
11-18-2008, 07:23 PM
thanks, where do i put that code thats in the tutorial? do I have to create a css style sheet or just throw it into the body somewhere?

Corrosive
11-18-2008, 07:26 PM
thanks, where do i put that code thats in the tutorial? do I have to create a css style sheet or just throw it into the body somewhere?

The CSS style goes in either the <head> tags or in a separate style sheet. I'd recommend the separate option.

The 'wrapper' code goes all the way round the code in your <body> tags. I.e. <div id="wrapper">Put your website code here</div>

wolfmanbc
11-18-2008, 08:38 PM