PDA

View Full Version : Would this work


WTseth
11-17-2008, 07:04 PM
I've been looking for a way to have a fixed size window to display my site could I do this by putting in a iframe of fixed size then a table inside that for the nav an side bar then main window. I've tried so many ways an nothing looks like what I'm trying to accomplish. Thanks guys I appreciate input

Corrosive
11-17-2008, 07:47 PM
I've been looking for a way to have a fixed size window to display my site could I do this by putting in a iframe of fixed size then a table inside that for the nav an side bar then main window. I've tried so many ways an nothing looks like what I'm trying to accomplish. Thanks guys I appreciate input

Have you seen any examples of what you are trying to accomplish at all?

WTseth
11-17-2008, 07:54 PM
yeah deathwishinc.com
I'd like to do a better version tho

Corrosive
11-17-2008, 08:02 PM
yeah deathwishinc.com
I'd like to do a better version tho

Have a look at the 'centring a design' tutorial on this site. Basically you want your site to sit within a div tag which has CSS instructions to make it central. You can then build inside this. My advice would be to avoid frames and tables for design and stick to CSS based layouts.

WTseth
11-17-2008, 08:23 PM
where it says all content here I'm taking it thats the actual page

An how do I apply the css to my page copy an paste if so to where

Rob_Che
11-17-2008, 08:51 PM
where it says all content here I'm taking it thats the actual page
An how do I apply the css to my page copy an paste if so to where

Yes, your page body goes where it says 'All Content Here'.

You can save your css code in an external CSS file and then link to it.
ie; Dreamweaver: File > New > New CSS document
Then link with something like:
<link href="wrapperCode.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
This would go in the <head> of your document.

WTseth
11-17-2008, 10:41 PM
thank you I appreciate it