PDA

View Full Version : Browser Discontinuity and Padding in Floating Div

joesp
11-11-2008, 03:21 AM
To begin, I'm relatively clueless to html concepts and have a graphics background with no web experience. I'm an architect, as in houses, not the web! I am trying to get a site up and running for my wife.

The site I have created, however inneficient in technical design, seems to work just fine in IE. However, doesn't seem to work as well in Firefox, Safari or Chrome. Below is a link to an unactive page I am hoping to use as a template for a more efficient site, once I have the following issues resolved:

http://www.silversaltmarketing.com/ssm_master_template.html

I have found the following problems:

Firefox:
The main content text is shifted all the way to the left of the white box, but everything else looks good. I'm not for sure what the problem is?

Chrome:
The white box doesn't align with the bottom of the sidebar background, and I can't figure out why.

Any thoughts on either one of these? I thought by getting rid of my 3-section template (header, sidebar & main content), we might be able to eliminate the alignment problem in chrome, but then I didn't know if we could place the rest of the content where it is supposed to be without the template sections? My other concern was whether or not I would be able to place all of the content over an image if set up using a single .jpg? I have no thoughts on the left alignment in Firefox.

Thanks for any suggestions, Joe

edbr
11-11-2008, 04:09 AM
try adding padding to the main content class as you have in sidebar
.twoColFixLtHdr #sidebar1 {
PADDING-RIGHT: 20px;
BACKGROUND-POSITION: center bottom;
PADDING-LEFT: 20px;
FLOAT: left;
BACKGROUND-IMAGE: url(Silversalt%20Images/ssm_cardboard.jpg);
PADDING-BOTTOM: 20px;
WIDTH: 240px;
PADDING-TOP: 20px;
BACKGROUND-REPEAT: no-repeat;
HEIGHT: 382px;
BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ebebeb;
}
.twoColFixLtHdr #mainContent {
WIDTH: auto;
HEIGHT: 382px;
}
not using chrome so no idea,