PDA

View Full Version : How to edit color/lightness of leaves in Photoshop

Interstellar Icon
11-09-2008, 09:05 AM
Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Photoshop, and I'm having a problem with a website template that I'm working on. Here's the unedited image:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff183/DesignDude/lisa_brothwell_index_v2010-26.jpg

My client asked if I could make the leaves at the top of the design greener and lighter. After playing around with the image filters, I came up with this:

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff183/DesignDude/lisa_brothwell_index_v2111-02.jpg

We both agree that the leaves toward the right side (over 'brothwell phd') look good, but the leaves on the left (over 'lisa m') look "fake". Any suggestions on what I can do to make these look better?

Here's what I've done to create the existing changes:

Image -> Adjustments -> Levels
-Channel: Green
-Output Levels (low value): +50

Image -> Adjustments -> Hue/Saturation
-Lightness: +5

Any input or suggestions welcomed. :)

Thanks,
Sam

Rob_Che
11-09-2008, 01:35 PM
Doesn't sound like you're far off. The 'fake' appearence may be due to the cropping/masking style you're using rather than the color selection... but anyway...

OK... Try;
Masking the area you want to edit (even making a new layer from it)
Select the color you want the leaves to be with the eyedropper.
Go to Hue/Saturation: Colorize.
Lighten the areas you want, this will pull through the foreground color too...

I'm not at my PC at the mo... I might have a play later...

d a v e
11-09-2008, 02:35 PM
have you got a link to a better quality version or even the psd??

Interstellar Icon
11-10-2008, 04:09 AM
Hey Guys,

Thanks very much for your input.

Doesn't sound like you're far off. The 'fake' appearence may be due to the cropping/masking style you're using rather than the color selection... but anyway...

OK... Try;
Masking the area you want to edit (even making a new layer from it)