PDA

View Full Version : Ap Div


Rookie
10-19-2008, 12:12 PM
Hi there!

Thanks for the welcome. I've posted my problem on a few forums now and no-one even bothered to acknowledge!

I'm really new to all this, so please bear with me.

When I draw an AP DIV, there are no resize handles, nor the handle on the top left. All I get is a solid blue box. :confused:

You're welcome to laugh your heads off, as long as you come up with an answer!

Cheers!

Corrosive
10-19-2008, 01:05 PM
Hi there!

Thanks for the welcome. I've posted my problem on a few forums now and no-one even bothered to acknowledge!

I'm really new to all this, so please bear with me.

When I draw an AP DIV, there are no resize handles, nor the handle on the top left. All I get is a solid blue box. :confused:

You're welcome to laugh your heads off, as long as you come up with an answer!

Cheers!

That's weird. It should give you resize handles for an AP Div. Have you tried resizing through the CSS properties panel?

Rookie
10-19-2008, 01:22 PM
I've just tried the CSS properties panel. Nothing happens.

I thought it might have been preferences I've setup incorrectly. A few days ago, out of desperation, I re-installed Dreamweaver, but the problem remains.
I have books and Total Training DVD's, which I've followed to the letter.
No result!

Corrosive
10-19-2008, 01:32 PM
I've just tried the CSS properties panel. Nothing happens.

I thought it might have been preferences I've setup incorrectly. A few days ago, out of desperation, I re-installed Dreamweaver, but the problem remains.
I have books and Total Training DVD's, which I've followed to the letter.
No result!

OK, if you look under edit>preferences and then select 'layers' or apdivs (or whatever DW calls them now) you will see that there is an auto size for apdivs. Usually defaults at width 200 and height 115. Take these sizes out and leave the boxes blank. That may help.

Rookie
10-19-2008, 07:38 PM
Hiya!

I've cleared all the boxes, like you suggested. Still no joy.

I've neglected to mention that I'm using CS3. Don't know if it makes any difference. I haven't felt so dumb in a long time!

Thanks for your patience so far anyway.

edbr
10-20-2008, 03:20 AM
in the style relevant to the APdiv what does it say. Copy and paste it here.

Rookie
10-20-2008, 10:24 AM
Hi

Attached is what's on my screen. Pls let me know if you need more info.

I went through a training session on CSS styles last night. I don't even seem to be able to change font colours.

Thanks in advance!

edbr
10-20-2008, 10:56 AM
look heres a page with an appdiv
ive made the texyt inside it #0000FF
make a new page paste this in it (compete page and see if you have the resize handles.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
#apDiv1 {
position:absolute;
width:200px;
height:115px;
z-index:1;FF;
}
-->
</style>
</head>

<body>

<div id="apDiv1">text</div>
</body>
</html>

Rookie
10-20-2008, 11:34 AM
RESULT!!!!

I don't know what made me go there, but under View>Style Rendering, I selected All Styles. I've got my Resize handles, CSS styles...Everything works.

Thanks!

Rookie
10-20-2008, 12:11 PM
Thanks to edbr and Corrosive. You've restored my faith in humanity!

Corrosive
10-20-2008, 05:29 PM
Thanks to edbr and Corrosive. You've restored my faith in humanity!

Hey, no problem. It helps to talk stuff through sometimes.