PDA

View Full Version : Website review

Interstellar Icon
10-16-2008, 12:07 PM
Hi All,

I recently completed my third website, and since I'm fairly new to web design, I'm hoping some of you can provide some input and feedback on how and where I can make improvements. You can view the site here:

http://www.nthdegreeconsulting.com/

This website was built with tables, and will be the last one built as such. :shock: I do have some specific questions regarding this site:

1. I'm in the process of learning CSS, and plan to build my next site with XHTML/CSS instead of tables. From a layout perspective, is there anything about the design of this site that could not be rendered using a CSS layout?

2. I'm still waiting for content on two of the inner pages ('Success Stories' and 'Partners'). I set it up so that these two buttons do not light up on mouseover, but I don't like the way it looks. I included 'coming soon' in the alt text for both, but on my websites, the alt text doesn't pop up in Firefox - only in IE. This issue has two related questions:
2a) I've seen the alt text on other sites pop up in my Firefox browser, but it doesn't on my sites. Any ideas as to what may be causing this, and what I can do to correct it?
2b) I'm considering changing these buttons so that they light up, but the button text changes to 'Coming Soon'. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance for any goodies you can send my way, and I'm open to any and all input that will help me to improve this site in particular and/or my skills in general. :)

Sam

domedia
10-16-2008, 02:05 PM
1. I'm in the process of learning CSS, and plan to build my next site with XHTML/CSS instead of tables. From a layout perspective, is there anything about the design of this site that could not be rendered using a CSS layout? Not really. You'll be using the right tool for the job so it's less restricting.