PDA

View Full Version : suggestions about my new design


Exoskeletor
10-12-2008, 01:38 AM
http://img373.imageshack.us/img373/1548/headertw0.jpg
Hello guys, long time no see, how are you holding up?
Im making a new site for my uncle that is a writer, check this logo. is it huge for a website or is just my idea? :D (the width isn't that bad but the height..)

Also this will be the name although im not sure about the backround, im thinking of white in the whole site, what do you think?
http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/2177/menuzt8.png



http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/6228/footerkw4.png
and this will be in the end (very smaller) what do you think?

Rob_Che
10-12-2008, 10:11 PM
Not so much a design as some attached images... but here goes...
The header is big - I like em big but I like big when they're glorious and beautiful. Yours isn't (yet)...

The images you have posted have no relationship...
I've attached a quick 'sketch' of what I'm trying to describe...
Reuse elements to give a cohesive feel...

I liek the menu idea... do you have anything planned for this or just a flat menu? I did something similar a few years ago (like 5! - don't laugh!) But I still like the menu on the right... http://www.rugbusters.co.uk/

RC

Corrosive
10-12-2008, 10:14 PM
http://www.rugbusters.co.uk/



OT (but I couldn't let this go): Who you gonna call. LMFAO, that is priceless :lol: and all that code for that tiny website! Keep the skeletons in the closet Rob :wink:

Rob_Che
10-12-2008, 10:17 PM
sssshhhh... don't tell Domedia ! :oops:

It was just the menu I was looking at OK !?
...and it was the client's tagline, not mine !

Exoskeletor
10-12-2008, 10:30 PM
Not so much a design as some attached images... but here goes...
The header is big - I like em big but I like big when they're glorious and beautiful. Yours isn't (yet)...

The images you have posted have no relationship...
I've attached a quick 'sketch' of what I'm trying to describe...
Reuse elements to give a cohesive feel...

I liek the menu idea... do you have anything planned for this or just a flat menu? I did something similar a few years ago (like 5! - don't laugh!) But I still like the menu on the right... http://www.rugbusters.co.uk/

RC

hmm nice suggestion. i though something like this but the logo gets to have small width and medium height. isnt that a problem? maybe add a pen or something? i dont know
About the menu in the logo, i want to use the photos as a menu, you think i should use both logo and the photos?

Also about the photos, im thinking to put it only in the index page. in the other pages im thinking of a simple text menu with buttons like this one:
http://img388.imageshack.us/img388/7820/arthrawc8.gif
http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/4448/arthrarij5.gif (pressed, hey the 2nd button it doesnt look so good as it looked in the fireworks. i guess its because it is a gif, i will save it to jpg)
what do you think? isnt too big (the menu with the photos) to use it more than one? (mind that the site is for a writer, it will have lots lots of text in the other pages)

also how about those textures:
http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/3848/94183959462563qm9.jpg
http://img505.imageshack.us/img505/276/104715817941328zz8.jpg
you like one of them more? (instead of the frame for the photo maybe i should use an effect for a photo like the one i use on the photos menu. i kinda like the frame but i dont know if it stick with the menu)

edbr
10-13-2008, 04:11 AM
i though the frame a little too big in relation to the size of the photo,
I like the background

Exoskeletor
10-13-2008, 10:08 AM
i though the frame a little too big in relation to the size of the photo,
I like the background
i was thinking of that too but i dont have a choice, i cant leave the logo so large, maybe i replace the frame with a photo but still it will be smaller than the others

edbr
10-13-2008, 10:13 AM
what about a pic , curl the edges ad have a drop shadow under it
have to say though the ornate frame is a bit greek style

Exoskeletor
10-13-2008, 10:15 AM
hmm i dont know how to make curl edges. do you have any tutorial?

edbr
10-13-2008, 10:26 AM
some where. i will look

davidj
10-13-2008, 06:39 PM
http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24648&highlight=page+curl

Exoskeletor
10-13-2008, 09:02 PM
thanks for the link but i dont like in much. what about one of those:
http://img244.imagevenue.com/loc566/th_15316_header2_122_566lo.jpg (http://img244.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=15316_header2_122_566lo.jpg)http://img241.imagevenue.com/loc500/th_15317_header3_122_500lo.jpg (http://img241.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=15317_header3_122_500lo.jpg)http://img21.imagevenue.com/loc1182/th_15319_Header4_122_1182lo.jpg (http://img21.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=15319_Header4_122_1182lo.jpg)http://img109.imagevenue.com/loc726/th_15324_Header5_122_726lo.jpg (http://img109.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=15324_Header5_122_726lo.jpg)
which do you prefer guys?

Rob_Che
10-13-2008, 09:07 PM
Number two looks great Exoskeletor !
Run with it . . .

edbr
10-14-2008, 02:13 AM
agreed#2 looks better

domedia
10-14-2008, 04:30 AM
I was going to say #3. But then I looked closer at it because of you guys' recommendation, and dang, you're right.. #2 is better.

Exoskeletor
10-14-2008, 04:33 AM
thanks for your suggestions. about the buttons i post in the first post? im sure you will not like them :) any suggestions for those?
how about those for button:
http://img245.imagevenue.com/loc239/th_56877_buttons1_122_239lo.jpg
http://img247.imagevenue.com/loc26/th_56938_buttons2_122_26lo.jpg

edbr
10-14-2008, 05:52 AM
kendriki 1

Rob_Che
10-14-2008, 08:03 AM
Is that 2 hover states of the same button ?

PS; your image host service is terrible. Full of ads and pop ups - yikes. I feel dirty.

Exoskeletor
10-15-2008, 06:22 PM
yes it is rob.
i have make a prototype but i can say it look pretty bad :D
it gives me the impression that the site is black and white. (i know the buttons are huge i will make them smaller later). tell me your impressions about those 2 pages:


www.bstefanou.gr/index.html (http://www.bstefanou.gr/index.html)
www.bstefanou.gr/index2.html (http://www.bstefanou.gr/index2.html)
Links doesn't work for now, which text menu you prefer? which photo menu? you think in the first page i have to keep text menu and photo menu?

Corrosive
10-15-2008, 06:24 PM
yes it is rob.
i have make a prototype but i can say it look pretty bad :D
it gives me the impression that the site is black and white. (i know the buttons are huge i will make them smaller later). tell me your impressions about those 2 pages:


www.bstefanou.gr/index.html (http://www.bstefanou.gr/index.html)
www.bstefanou.gr/index2.html (http://www.bstefanou.gr/index2.html)

Number two is the best. I don't like the drop shadows in the 'over' state in the first one. Great looking site though :grin:

Exoskeletor
10-15-2008, 06:28 PM
Number two is the best. I don't like the drop shadows in the 'over' state in the first one. Great looking site though :grin:

really? cause i feel disapointed, i though it's pretty bad. it givving me the impression that it is black and white and that it doesnt have structure, what about the photo menu? you like the first or the other?
the links by the way looks so huge :D but that i will fix it
Also does anyone knows why i cant add behaviors on dreamweaver on map selection? i mean i have make a selections in the photos photo but i cant add anything in that selection :(

Corrosive
10-15-2008, 06:32 PM
really? cause i feel disapointed, i though it's pretty bad. it givving me the impression that it is black and white and that it doesnt have structure, what about the photo menu? you like the first or the other?
the links by the way looks so huge :D but that i will fix it

I like everything about the second one better if that helps? Photo menu and all. Don't be hard on youself, that is a nice looking and innovative site. The only one thing I will say is, if that is your front/index page it could do with some html text. This is for search engines. They will usually go to your index page to find out what your site is about. That's why people don't use 'splash' pages any more.

Exoskeletor
10-15-2008, 06:39 PM
ok then thanx.
i will say to my client to add a small welcome message to add somewhere, the other pages will have huge text

Corrosive
10-15-2008, 06:46 PM
ok then thanx.
i will say to my client to add a small welcome message to add somewhere, the other pages will have huge text

Cool, then I think you are all set. :grin:

Exoskeletor
10-16-2008, 11:16 PM
Cool, then I think you are all set. :grin:

back :), i have add some more stuff http://www.bstefanou.gr/index.html now the links works
some pages have so much text that looks too simple. i will ask from the client more photos to add in those pages. what's your opinion?

Rob_Che
10-16-2008, 11:28 PM
How about containing it ?

That should tighten up the look of it.
I often add a bg like the one attached for example.

RC

Exoskeletor
10-17-2008, 04:14 AM
you add this backround on the page or on the main div? do you have more to suggest? it wouldnt be strange to add backround only to this page? i should add it on all of the pages?

Corrosive
10-17-2008, 06:57 AM
back :), i have add some more stuff http://www.bstefanou.gr/index.html now the links works
some pages have so much text that looks too simple. i will ask from the client more photos to add in those pages. what's your opinion?

Don't fall into the trap of thinking that every web page has to be 'complicated' or have loads of pics all over it. If I remember the start of this post then your client is an author, yes? So the words are most important, yes? So, why would you drown out his words with loads of pictures. It makes no sense. Don't fall into the trap of 'over designing' your website. People who visit want to learn about your client, they don't give a rats arse how good you are at web designing or how many pictures you can stick in. Images etc. should be relevant or not there at all. That is the truth :wink: You've done a really good job so far. Now let your client's prose speak for itself.

There we go, off my chest now/rant over :grin:

Rob_Che
10-17-2008, 09:58 AM
I agree Corrosive - I suggested a 'frame' (for want of a much better word) to highlight what is there... there is no need to add things just to make the page look 'busier'...

Some well defined headings (H1 H2 H3 etc) can add to the layout better than just adding more images. It's the layout that needs help here, not the design, if that makes sense...

Exoskeletor
10-17-2008, 02:48 PM
hmm ok i will try to add the frame in some of the pages. how much difference a heading can make? tell me some good settings for headings if you like, the poet wants also music so i think in the end it will be pretty
Also im thinking of adding 2-3 more photos on the pages with a lot of text, you guys think i shouldn't do that?

Rob_Che
10-17-2008, 04:24 PM
Also im thinking of adding 2-3 more photos on the pages with a lot of text, you guys think i shouldn't do that?
Only if they're necessary - don't add images just to fill it - that's my point.

Heading s can break it up and organise it better... this page http://www.bstefanou.gr/poihmata.html has lots of the same size text, it makes it hard to read (well, that and it not being English :)) . . .

Again, don't add a frame or background just for the sake of it. Does it need it ? Don't take our word for it ;)

Rob

Corrosive
10-17-2008, 04:51 PM
Only if they're necessary - don't add images just to fill it - that's my point.

...and mine! :wink:

Exoskeletor
10-17-2008, 06:48 PM
if have add some headlines and some bywords (i dont know if this is the best word) of the poet in the end of those pages, it look better now :)

Corrosive
10-17-2008, 07:36 PM
if have add some headlines and some bywords (i dont know if this is the best word) of the poet in the end of those pages, it look better now :)

I think it looks great :grin:

Your Uncle will be happy I think. Rob is right though, if you add a border to the content I think it would just draw the eye in and would finish it off nicely.

Nice One.

Exoskeletor
10-17-2008, 10:05 PM
hmm i have try to add a backround but i dont know how :D if i just select to add a backround on the page properties and to repeat-y but its not a fixed backround. i mean the backround it change position according the screen resolution. how i can fix that?

Rob_Che
10-17-2008, 10:38 PM
It shouldn't matter if it moves with the page but if you want to 'fix' it, try:

body {
background-image: url(../images/mainbg.gif) ;
background-repeat: repeat y ;
background-attachment: fixed;
}


RC

Exoskeletor
10-17-2008, 10:53 PM
also sites like imdb.com how they are adding a shadow effect in the border of the page? its just a fixed image backround?

I have try background-attachment: fixed; but the backround image is still fixed while the pages aren't (if you change resolution, my problem is that it doesnt move with the page, if you change resolution, the backround change position)

Rob_Che
10-18-2008, 12:40 AM
also sites like imdb.com how they are adding a shadow effect in the border of the page? its just a fixed image backround?

yes, just like the one i showed you.
This is their image (http://i.media-imdb.com/images/SFf4998318a26e5a6e8304e5bbbef6581a/wheel/bg-1008.gif)

I have try background-attachment: fixed; but the backround image is still fixed while the pages aren't (if you change resolution, my problem is that it doesnt move with the page, if you change resolution, the backround change position)
Do you want the background to move with the page?
If you're using a vertically repeating background, I don't understand why it matters... I have been drinking though...

Rob

Exoskeletor
10-18-2008, 05:16 AM
this is what im saying, try to resize the window and see what happens www.bstefanou.gr/index2.html (http://www.bstefanou.gr/index2.html)
am i doing something wrong?
body {
background-image: url(images/bg.jpg);
background-repeat: repeat-y;
}

Rob_Che
10-18-2008, 09:15 AM
OK. Looks like your background is positioned top left but your centent in central. try adding:

background-position: top;


Take a look here for more properties...
http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_background.asp

Corrosive
10-18-2008, 09:28 AM
OK. Looks like your background is positioned top left but your centent in central. try adding:

background-position: top;


Take a look here for more properties...
http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_background.asp

OK, couple of thoughts. 1. why not just add a colour to the body of your website instead of an image? Maybe an 'off-white' (grey, beige) This will make the white content area stand out better. Or, 2. add your border to the 'content' div rather than the background. You can do this with an image and/or CSS. That way it will stay centred with your design.

Exoskeletor
10-18-2008, 09:44 AM
hmm i cant add it on a div bacause we want this effect on the sides of the page, everything that is out of the div will not have backround right? i think the only solution is to make a new div outside the ther divs only for this job, to add a backround to it

Exoskeletor
10-18-2008, 09:50 AM
OK. Looks like your background is positioned top left but your centent in central. try adding:

background-position: top;


Take a look here for more properties...
http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_background.asp

haha that simple? take a look at this :) http://www.bstefanou.gr/index2.html
also i think i should center the container div to the top of the page because is doing something strange on the top right corner. (or to make the bg.jpg image 2 pixels bigger?)
i think in the programing side the site is better, im using divs, css dynamic web templates, isn't that the best way in our days?

Corrosive
10-18-2008, 09:54 AM
haha that simple? take a look at this :) http://www.bstefanou.gr/index2.html
also i think i should center the container div to the top of the page because is doing something strange on the top right corner. (or to make the bg.jpg image 2 pixels bigger?)
i think in the programing side the site is better, im using divs, css dynamic web templates, isn't that the best way in our days?

Nice one Rob and Exo :grin:

Have you made the margins on your body 0? You can find this in the page properties options. That might fix the top left hand corner.

Corrosive
10-18-2008, 09:56 AM
Nice one Rob and Exo :grin:

Have you made the margins on your body 0? You can find this in the page properties options. That might fix the top left hand corner.

Add this to your body definition...

body {margin: 0;}

See what it does.

Rob_Che
10-18-2008, 01:28 PM
haha that simple?

It often is !

also i think i should center the container div to the top of the page because is doing something strange on the top right corner.

Widen the white section in your BG. You could just delete the top margin as Corrosive says but the BG fade will be a little off side-to-side.

or to make the bg.jpg image 2 pixels bigger?

More like 4-5 pixels but who's counting ;)

One last thing would be the width of your content. It will not display fully in a 800x600 browser window. I hate to generalise but I'm guessing a lot of people that would be into this stuff may have older computers? (shoot me now)

RC

Exoskeletor
10-18-2008, 05:28 PM
Well about the resolution, i will make the divs smaller sometime (for the 800x600 the main div must be 780 max isn't it?). i have add margin 0 and now it's good, but i have change a little the bg image. check it: www.bstefanou.gr (http://www.bstefanou.gr) do you like it?
Now one last thing, i want a way so my unckle can add posts, something like this http://bstefanou.blogspot.com/ .
A site that require login, that you can easily add photos and text and that can automaticly put in categories older posts. do you know anything that is free and i can add it in my site? (my server support php and sql so i don't think i will have any problem with them)

Rob_Che
10-18-2008, 06:52 PM
Hey - I really like that background... would never have done that myself but i like it... feels dreamy.... .zzzzzzz...........

Most blogs are free. You just need to style them to match your site. You can add your own header so it keeps all your links etc.

Check with your Server Company - they often have deals with blogging companies so might already have it all installed for you.

http://wordpress.org/ has a famous 5 minute set up. You really can start blogging within 10 minutes! I'm creating this site using their 'back end' - http://blog.wireroses.co.uk

RC

Corrosive
10-19-2008, 06:51 AM
Well about the resolution, i will make the divs smaller sometime (for the 800x600 the main div must be 780 max isn't it?). i have add margin 0 and now it's good, but i have change a little the bg image. check it: www.bstefanou.gr (http://www.bstefanou.gr) do you like it?
Now one last thing, i want a way so my unckle can add posts, something like this http://bstefanou.blogspot.com/ .
A site that require login, that you can easily add photos and text and that can automaticly put in categories older posts. do you know anything that is free and i can add it in my site? (my server support php and sql so i don't think i will have any problem with them)

Looking great now. Just a couple more pointers for you quickly though...

This is your body tag...

body {
background-image: url(images/bg.jpg);
background-position: top;
margin-left: 0px;
margin-top: 0px;
margin-right: 0px;
margin-bottom: 0px;
<br />
; background-repeat: repeat-y;
background-color: #E3D9CD;
}

I don't know why you have this <br/> sat in your style definitions. and also, zero margins on all top, bottom, left and right can just be summarised with margin: 0; You don't even need to put in the 'px' because 0 doesn't need to have a size unit....0 is 0.

I think your CSS should be...

body {
background-image: url(images/bg.jpg);
background-position: top;
background-repeat: repeat-y;
background-color: #E3D9CD;
margin: 0;
}

Yours isn't doing any harm but it pays to keep things tidy and understand the shortest route to achieve what you need.

Exoskeletor
10-19-2008, 07:01 AM
yeah i noticed that too :) now i have another problem :D im trying to add my header here www.bstefanou.gr/arthra (http://www.bstefanou.gr/arthra) but i cant do it. im pretty happy however because my client find it easy to use it (although right now he isnt 100% accurate if you check the wordpress :) )

Corrosive
10-19-2008, 07:14 AM
yeah i noticed that too :) now i have another problem :D im trying to add my header here www.bstefanou.gr/arthra (http://www.bstefanou.gr/arthra) but i cant do it.

Do you know why this isn't working? Is this the header in the WP CSS?

#header {
background: #73a0c5 url('images/kubrickheader.jpg') no-repeat bottom center;
}

I have never used WordPress but Rob Che has so he may be able to help you more than me.

Exoskeletor
10-19-2008, 07:28 AM
Do you know why this isn't working? Is this the header in the WP CSS?

#header {
background: #73a0c5 url('images/kubrickheader.jpg') no-repeat bottom center;
}

I have never used WordPress but Rob Che has so he may be able to help you more than me.
i have manage to somehow add my header and my backround with copy paste but after my header the page is not displayed properly, for example the links on the sidebar are disappeared, that php makes hard to understand the code

Rob_Che
10-19-2008, 09:08 AM
Hey !

The sidebar links can all be changed in the admin panel under "Widgets" - they're in the Design section of the control panel.

You can change the Header / Sidebar etc content locally if you want to download the files... I know NOTHING about PHP ! (Ask DavidJ) and I've managed it. There are some good tutorials out there... The one I used > http://jonathanwold.com/tutorials/wordpress_theme/ - It's pretty long but allows you to style it exactly like your web page and still keep the widgets an functionality of WP.

ENJOY!

RC

Exoskeletor
10-26-2008, 07:13 AM
hey guys, long time since my last post. i have to change some pages in order to make it more easy for my uncle to edit them. now the only problem i have is that i cant remove the columns on the header and the footer http://www.bstefanou.gr/arthra/ does anybody know how to do that?