PDA

View Full Version : Flash appears by IE


KenjiRobbert
10-09-2008, 02:50 PM
I've made a SpryAsset menu in Dreamweaver. When I touch the buttons in Firefox, everything is okey, but when I try it in IE, a flash will appear everytime I touch another button.

http://www.freewebs.com/kenjirobbert/flash_IE/index.html

Can somebody tell me what is wrong ?

Robbert

domedia
10-09-2008, 02:59 PM
Works great in my IE. Did you fix it?

KenjiRobbert
10-10-2008, 10:28 AM
I think it happens only on my computer, I've seen it on another pc and there nothing happens:) So I think that is solved:) But I've a second question, can you or somebody else tell me how to make the menu dashs on the right place ?

http://www.freewebs.com/kenjirobbert/menu/index.html

Tnx
Robbert

edbr
10-11-2008, 01:27 AM
how to make the menu dashs on the right place ?
not clear what you mean by this

KenjiRobbert
10-11-2008, 08:30 AM
I don't know why, because I put everything in de .css file, but the text goes upstairs anyway:S

This is how it looks in Firefox.
http://www.freewebs.com/kenjirobbert/menu/Firefox.png

This is how it looks in IE.
http://www.freewebs.com/kenjirobbert/menu/IE.png

(This is the site where the screenshots came from)
http://www.freewebs.com/kenjirobbert/menu/index.html

Cary
10-11-2008, 06:59 PM
There a few things which need fixing. There's a blank line above your doctype. Remove that or it will just cause you headaches when trying to work with IE 6 as it makes IE 6 render the page in quirks mode using its broken box model. Right now the page is looking really bad in IE 6.

You have several validation errors which need to be fixed.

I noticed this...

<ul id="MenuBar1" class="MenuBarVertical">
<div id="menulijn_12"></div>
<div id="menulijn_11"></div>
<div id="menulijn_10"></div>
<div id="menulijn_9"></div>
<div id="menulijn_8"></div>
<div id="menulijn_7"></div>
<div id="menulijn_6"></div>
<div id="menulijn_5"></div>
<div id="menulijn_4"></div>
<div id="menulijn_3"></div>
<div id="menulijn_2"></div>
<div id="menulijn_1"></div>
<li><a href="index.html">Voorwoord</a> </li>


I'm guessing you added the divs so you could use absolute positioning on them to create your "dashes". It's all wrong. All additional content within a list must be within the li tags, and even then it needs to be an inline element. Block-level elements such as divs can't be used, and absolute positioned elements such as these will never work across different browsers and computers. This would only work if the text was the exact same size for everyone with the exact same line spacing. That's just not possible.

You should be styling the borders of the li or a elements to achieve this effect. I haven't messed with Spry yet, but it seems it should give you this kind of control.