PDA

View Full Version : browser independent web page


Padma.chettri
08-30-2008, 05:35 AM
Hi,
i have designed a static page, which runs well in internet explorer but do not run well in opera, morzilla....the alignments are distrubed. Plus, i have used a big image on the back ground which makes my page very slow to load. i tried removing the image but it looks very dull without the image.....plz suggest what do i do..i am very very new to web designing.

plz help..

sincerely,
padma.

d a v e
08-30-2008, 05:51 AM
post a link to the page so we can help ;)

Padma.chettri
08-30-2008, 06:38 AM
www.ricb.com.bt

edbr
08-30-2008, 07:35 AM
yes your images are slow, you are using 1 large image as a background.
370 KB' is it optimised?

Also some of this could be done using background colours to divisions and breaking the page intp divs that have imgae backgrounds but using a small image with repeat, especially wher you have gradients

pc15
08-30-2008, 07:44 AM
1-could u plz tell me how do i make it possible to run the site in other browsers too other than IE

2- how do i make the big background image into pieces

plz suggest.:(

d a v e
08-30-2008, 09:54 AM
you shuold also save the image as a jpeg not a gif as it has too many gradients.

if you want to make your site cross browser then you'll need to learn enough html and csss to fix anything when you validate your site.

have a look at the tutorials and articles link at the top of this forum page, and check out http://www.w3schools.com/

you may have to redesign your site a little / lot to make it work ;)

Death Dream
09-10-2008, 03:56 PM
NoScript blocked so many things on that site =D

~Death Dream~

domedia
09-10-2008, 05:22 PM
1-could u plz tell me how do i make it possible to run the site in other browsers too other than IE
Only one way: you need working knowledge and experience in cross browser compatibility. Achieving this goes way beyond a forum thread. I think you've taken yourself upon some work you are not ready for, sorry :-(

2- how do i make the big background image into pieces You do this from Photoshop. In your instance I would isolate which gradient you want to repeat, and slice out a couple pixels wide or tall images.

Rob_Che
09-12-2008, 11:11 PM
I think you've taken yourself upon some work you are not ready for, sorry :-(

Don't fear though pc15 http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/showthread.php?p=143832#post143832), some of us were there just a few months ago ! ;)

domedia
09-12-2008, 11:41 PM
Don't fear though pc15 http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/showthread.php?p=143832#post143832), some of us were there just a few months ago ! ;)
Very true, the only deciding factor is dedication and time :)