PDA

View Full Version : Rollover Buttons


jon015
08-18-2008, 12:03 PM
I am trying to create some rollover buttons. I go to insert>image objects>rollover image and then place my original button image in the original image and my downstate button in rollover image. All works ok, except for when I rollover the button, it sort of enlarges the button a tiny bit that overlaps the rest of my button nav bar and the quality in downstate looks more like a gif than the original Jpeg I imported?

Ricky55
08-18-2008, 12:20 PM
Are the two images, normal and over states viewing OK outside of DW?

jon015
08-18-2008, 02:22 PM
Yes I created them in fireworks. The overstate messes up when I insert in dreamweaver.

Ricky55
08-18-2008, 03:47 PM
could you show us the file?

Corrosive
08-18-2008, 05:36 PM
I am trying to create some rollover buttons. I go to insert>image objects>rollover image and then place my original button image in the original image and my downstate button in rollover image. All works ok, except for when I rollover the button, it sort of enlarges the button a tiny bit that overlaps the rest of my button nav bar and the quality in downstate looks more like a gif than the original Jpeg I imported?

Jon, is the image you are using EXACTLY the right size for your rollover? If not, you are asking the browser/DW to resize it I would have thought. This is not good. Just a guess without seeing it mind you.

jon015
08-19-2008, 10:16 AM
Jon, is the image you are using EXACTLY the right size for your rollover? If not, you are asking the browser/DW to resize it I would have thought. This is not good. Just a guess without seeing it mind you.

I have attached both images and they are identical in size? I tried attaching the html page, but it won't let you upload that type of file.

domedia
08-19-2008, 02:30 PM
They are of different size.. 166x40 and 165x39.
Why didn't you check it yourself? :)

Right Click -> Properties

Corrosive
08-19-2008, 05:00 PM
They are of different size.. 166x40 and 165x39.
Why didn't you check it yourself? :)

Right Click -> Properties

Yep, even a couple of px out can really make it look bad. Suggest you resize them in FW or PS or whatever you use.

Ricky55
08-21-2008, 02:58 AM
You can't help some people.

Ricky55
08-21-2008, 03:00 AM
They're miles a part, ones 100px wide x 24 px high and one is 166px wide x 40px,

get a grip Jon.

Corrosive
08-21-2008, 07:05 AM
They're miles a part, ones 100px wide x 24 px high and one is 166px wide x 40px,

get a grip Jon.

If I create a rollowver in Photoshop I'll use the same PSD and just change the text or whatever I want to indicate the button has been 'rolled over' and then save them. They have to be the same size or will look truly awful.

Ricky55
08-21-2008, 10:07 AM
Thats how you're supposed to do it and then you know for a fact they are the same size.

This is just one of the many problems with slicing in Photoshop and choosing to export as table based HTML.