PDA

View Full Version : Help with forms please!

Steakaphagus
07-31-2008, 11:04 AM
Hi guys, wondered if anyone could help with some form questions?
I'm pretty new to Dreamweaver (well, I've actually spent a long, long time slowly learning from books etc). I've managed to build half a site, but now struggling with forms......
1. I'm putting the form elements into a table, but can't work out how to change the size of the text area - I want to be able to display the site's terms and conds in a box, and the only way it looks even slightly ok is with virtual wrap. Ideally I'd like the box to be wider so less scrolling is needed......
2. I'm trying to put in a checkbox to say that T&C has been read to allow form submission - when I go to the 'behaviours' and try to validate the form, it only lets me insist on text field/area inputs - how do I insist on the box being checked to allow submission?
3. How do I get CAPTCHA into the form? I've seen downloads being sold on the net, but wondered if DW had it built in somewhere (can't find it though....)
4. Spent a long time getting my head around CGI (thought of using formail) - is this the best way to process the forms? (have read about PHP on this site, and now confused as to which to use, or are they the same?)

Sorry to be asking so much, but I'm tearing my hair out and didn't have that much to lose in the first place!!!

edbr
07-31-2008, 11:14 AM
no 1 post your code
no 2 not with dw alone i think
no 3 good clear captcha tut http://frikk.tk/comments-273-03.15.06.htm
no 4 check franks formail has both cgi and php

Steakaphagus
07-31-2008, 11:57 AM
Hi edbr. I've posted the code below - it's only a very basic form, as you will see! I've only put in part of the Ts and Cs to save space....but as you see, it would be nice to have a text area that was larger so users have more lines to view at one time and less 'side to side' scrolling. At the moment it previews as a tiny 2-line box that only views a couple of words at a time.