PDA

View Full Version : Help with comments

JoshH
07-19-2008, 09:29 PM
Pardon me I am a real Newbie...

I have Dreamweaver CS3 and I am trying to design a website that also allows comments. I have my site looking the way I want, Now I would like for people to be able to post comments about my content.

I would really love for the site to allow people to have a user ID and Avatar (picture of anything they want) without creating a new account each time they come to the site.

Can someone please give me a step by step explanation on how to do this in Dreamweaver??

Cary
07-20-2008, 12:54 AM
Unfortunately, what you're asking goes beyond just using DW. You're going to need to learn how to have the server create cookies and sessions using PHP or ASP.Net. You can learn about PHP from the tutorials section here.

You can go different routes in so far as you may decide to do everything from scratch, or you may want to use some ready-made dynamic website solutions such as a bulletin board or blog where you tweak things to your liking.

Your web host may already have bulletin board software on your server which you need only activate and personalize. Something to check into.

Corrosive
07-20-2008, 09:43 AM
Pardon me I am a real Newbie...

I have Dreamweaver CS3 and I am trying to design a website that also allows comments. I have my site looking the way I want, Now I would like for people to be able to post comments about my content.

I would really love for the site to allow people to have a user ID and Avatar (picture of anything they want) without creating a new account each time they come to the site.

Can someone please give me a step by step explanation on how to do this in Dreamweaver??

Cary is right, this is quite advanced what you are asking. If you want a 'ready made' solution try this... http://js-kit.com/

It's plug and play, easily styled with a couple of CSS tweaks and the support forum is pretty good.