PDA

View Full Version : Include code


Jittor
07-09-2008, 01:57 PM
Hey guys!

I am using the following include code on my pages.


<div id="menu"><!-- #include file="menu.php" --></div>

It has always worked. I just built a site for a friend and this code is not working. Any idea why it would not include?

here is the site: www.americanhi.org

davidj
07-09-2008, 03:37 PM
you need to use the php include syntax not the HTML version


include("menu.php");

Jittor
07-09-2008, 03:43 PM
I tried both the php and the html :

<div id="menu">include("menu.php");</div>

<div id="menu"><!-- #include file="menu.html" --></div>

neither worked? The host does support php and it is installed so I am not sure what is going on.

Jittor
07-09-2008, 03:45 PM
actually the php was

<div id="menu"><?include('menu.php');?></div>

I would have thought the html include would have at least worked.

Jittor
07-09-2008, 04:10 PM
Called the hosting company and they fixed it - it was something on their end - figures.