PDA

View Full Version : Help with Linking "Variable" Text

Jimdrang
06-08-2008, 07:00 AM
Hello,

I have recently been trying to learn Dreamweaver and am having some problems when I try to create a multi page website.

I have no background with html/webcode so I only understand the Dreamweaver interface from video tutorials and playing with it.

What I am trying to accomplish: I have a homepage in which the main area is a table with 1 column and it has about 20-30 rows. Each row starts out with 2-3 word "heading" that is also a web link to the next page for each row and then has a longer 2-3 line description. Nothing is defined in the rows other than the first couple words being the web link. It is just text formatting other than that.

I would like to set it up where whatever the name of the link the user clicks on gets carried over into another section of the seconds page as a heading for a form the user is filling out.

The only way I can think to do this now would be to create 20-30 copies of the 2nd page and then link to a separate one just to change this 2 word heading, but there has to be a better/easier way.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Rob_Che
06-08-2008, 07:20 AM
You could have form where the first drop down box contains the first 20 headings and the user chooses one ?

Welcome by the way Jimdrang.

There are much better ways tho I'm sure (just thinking lateraly) - I'm sure you'll find what you need here :)

Rob

Jimdrang
06-08-2008, 07:29 AM
Thanks Rob.

I'd like to keep the layout the same because the first page is kind of like a list of items and a preview of the description and then when they click on one, I want to load that text to a different area in page 2 and then fill out the complete description above a form a created.

davidj
06-08-2008, 09:40 AM
you can do this using PHP

how much PHP do you know and do you have a web server installed

Jimdrang
06-08-2008, 10:13 PM
Hi David