PDA

View Full Version : Which database?

hhsottawa
06-03-2008, 09:31 PM
I've been using Dreamweaver for a few months and I've designed and posted a static site. Now I want to develop a database driven site. I have MS Access but what's the general concensus about databases and Dreamweaver? Which is best...MySQL or Access?

davidj
06-03-2008, 10:13 PM
if you use Access then your looking at using ASP

its a capable language but normaly costs more to host as it would normally be on a windows box. The natural progresion from ASP would be to go down the .NET route

open source is another option like PHP. This marries well with MYSQL. I sugest you try that. Also dont use Dreamweaver tools to build your Apps. Learn how to hand code

check my signature for tutorials

Ricky55
06-03-2008, 10:34 PM
Its OK saying that but some people don't want to learn PHP I know I didn't. I've been using MySQL with Dreamweaver and Coldfusion and I've found it be really good.

I know its more flexible to code yourself but I just don't have the time or the inclination to learn PHP I have enough on trying to master CSS and all the other programs I need to use.

Each to their own I guess I'm just saying there's more than one way.

I did an excellent course from Lynda.com on Dynamic development in Dreamweaver and I learn loads.

davidj
06-04-2008, 07:32 AM
its fair to say that somewhere down the line your going to require a function thats outside the drag-n-drop scope of Dreamweaver. Its normally a client which wants this. Also when something goes wrong or you have a syntax error there is no button in dreamweaver called [fix errors]

when dreamweaver writes code, a login page for example, it does not know if your using access levels where pages are locked depending on account level. It writes all the functions and code to accommodate this but assigns the variables to false if its not needed.

Why write code if its not needed?