PDA

View Full Version : Can not get linked pages to open in current window.


Jerry
05-24-2008, 07:09 PM
Using Dreamweaver 8. Created 1 row 2 cols left frame and mainframe page. No matter what I do my "HOME" link, (or all links for that matter), I can not get the linked page to open in same browser window. It either opens in new window or in one of the frames. Help say's "In the Target pop-up menu _top opens the linked document in the current browser window, replacing all frames"
It doesn't work for me. It opens in a new window. I also have problems in non frame pages but not as much. Leaving the target menu blank, with no text at all usually works.

d a v e
05-24-2008, 08:01 PM
why are you using frames?

Jerry
05-24-2008, 09:53 PM
Ignorance I guess, I'm not well versed in web site construction and new to dreamweaver. I want to use a left side border with out having the border tiling at different resolutions. Is there any other way to do that? Thanks.

d a v e
05-24-2008, 10:11 PM
what do you mean tiling?
why not set it up just as a normal page with a left hand column??
you´re asking for more trouble than you can handle using frames :)

can you post a url or explain further what you are trying to do?

Jerry
05-24-2008, 10:38 PM
Left border is part of background image thus repeats or tiles at higher resolutions. I need a separate border and background image to fit at all resolutions. I guess I thought frames and colums were the same thing. I will try to figure it out with colums.
Page is: http://thegreasygrass.com/gglinks2.html
Accomplishes what I want except link properties.

d a v e
05-24-2008, 10:47 PM
just set the background image using css a fixed image, repeated on the y-axis - you can crop it midway between the cyan patterns
i´m guessing that´s new to you so look here for help

http://www.w3schools.com/css/default.asp
and
http://htmldog.com/

and the articles and tutorials on this forum http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/tutorials.php

Jerry
05-24-2008, 11:27 PM
Thanks Dave. After reading your last post I did noticed the page properties dialog has a repeat dialog box. That works like you said, just matched border edge color to background color. I will study the links you posted. I obviously have a lot more to learn. I still would like to figure out if you can do this with border image and a background image instead of just background color.