PDA

View Full Version : Assumed width using divs

2bz2p
05-15-2008, 06:52 PM
Hello,

I am fairly new to CSS and I have been messing around with it. I understand the box model, but my question is when you work with the margins in px, what is the assumed width of the page?

For example say I wanted to put a column on the left side so what would the margin be from the left edge? say the column is 300px wide and the content section is 500px wide and I want it centered so there is say 25px on each side of the main body. Does this make the entire page 850px wide??

I must say I like the tables becuase I can picture them and with dreamweaver the show up in the design so sizing is easy, but with div containers I cant seem to visualize it nor see it

Hope that makes sense.
2b

Death Dream
05-15-2008, 07:02 PM
It all depends on how big you want your page to appear on the screen.

Pretty much if you want your page to be centered you need a wrapper div of some kind.

<div id="wrapper">
<div id="column">
whatever content here
</div>
<div id="content">
main content here
</div>
</div>and in your CSS code:

#wrapper {
margin: 0 auto;
}
#column {
width: 300px;
float: left;
}
#content {
width: 500px;
float: right;
}
Hope that helps.

~Death Dream~

-fedexer-
05-15-2008, 07:02 PM
Well i am no expert, but lets say you had a div which everything else was inside, your sidebar and main content.

You then using CSS could make the margins left and right of that div (which contains everything else) be exactly identical, therefore making your webpage centered in the middle of the screen (not sure if this is what you are aiming at).

To acheive this you would use:

(id or class) name {
margin-left: auto;
margin-right:auto;
}

Umm hope this helps a little, but i'm guessing the other members will have a better answer for you mate.

-fedexer-

Death Dream
05-15-2008, 07:08 PM
Well i am no expert, but lets say you had a div which everything else was inside, your sidebar and main content.