PDA

View Full Version : Visited state of button & drop downs


vb_pilgrim
04-24-2008, 01:46 AM
I can make my regular/natural state buttons, and even hover (mouse-over, etc.) buttons, but how do I indicate that a different button be used to show the user he/she's been there already? Is that deprecated?

Also, can someone give me the url to ranjan's (ranjab's?) tutorial on drop down nav bars with layers?

Thanks!

VB Pilgrim (an oldie trying to get back into web developing :D)

tdPhil
04-24-2008, 10:58 AM
I can make my regular/natural state buttons, and even hover (mouse-over, etc.) buttons, but how do I indicate that a different button be used to show the user he/she's been there already? Is that deprecated?

Also, can someone give me the url to ranjan's (ranjab's?) tutorial on drop down nav bars with layers?

Thanks!

VB Pilgrim (an oldie trying to get back into web developing :D)

I think you will have to make a different flash file for every page linked to your button. Then just "break appart" the relevent button for that page and change the image to your over-state. This is what I do, there's probably an easier way though!

this tutorials good:
http://www.tutvid.com/tutorials_pages_subs/FLASH/dropDownMenu.html

vb_pilgrim
04-24-2008, 01:23 PM
I think you will have to make a different flash file for every page linked to your button. Then just "break appart" the relevent button for that page and change the image to your over-state. This is what I do, there's probably an easier way though!

this tutorials good:
http://www.tutvid.com/tutorials_pages_subs/FLASH/dropDownMenu.html
Hi Phil, Thanks for your idea, I never would have thought of that. Actually, however, I am looking for something else. If the links were straight html, I could add an a:visited class to that link and it would automatically change after the user visits that page. But it doesn't seem to be working, and when I create the nav bar with DW there is no provision for the "visited" state. d'oh!

Compound that with wanting 1 button to have a drop down when the mouse is hovering over it, and I find myself in a tangle. Thanks for the tutorial, I'll check it out.

vb_pilgrim
04-24-2008, 06:50 PM
Here's a link to show more of what I'm after.

http://www.felicite.ca/nav_page1.html

Thanks!

domedia
04-25-2008, 02:11 PM
I can make my regular/natural state buttons, and even hover (mouse-over, etc.) buttons, but how do I indicate that a different button be used to show the user he/she's been there already? Is that deprecated?
With CSS:
a:link {}
a:visited {}
a:hover {}
a:active {}
Also, can someone give me the url to ranjan's (ranjab's?) tutorial on drop down nav bars with layers?
Available in our tutorials section:
http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/dreamweaver-dhtml-menu.php

vb_pilgrim
04-27-2008, 11:00 PM
Thank you. :-D

VB

vb_pilgrim
04-29-2008, 11:31 PM
With CSS:
a:link {}
a:visited {}
a:hover {}
a:active {}

Oops, I spoke too fast. The nav buttons are in a table created by DW, and although I set them to a class where I defined the a.name:visited as having the "visited" button as a background image, it's now behind the other button.

Should I remove all behaviours and just stick to the css mentioned in this code, or is there another fix I haven't thought of? (I even thought of putting the buttons behind a space.gif then having the different button states behind that... will that work? Am I just making this more difficult than it needs to be?)

Thanks in advance,
VB pilgrim

domedia
04-30-2008, 02:29 PM
Cannot give specific advice on your site without seeing it, but regular advice would be to ditch the tables and spacer gif's and make a web standards website. That's where CSS really comes into play.

Do you have a url?

vb_pilgrim
04-30-2008, 04:19 PM
Cannot give specific advice on your site without seeing it, but regular advice would be to ditch the tables and spacer gif's and make a web standards website. That's where CSS really comes into play.

Do you have a url?

Oops! Sorry, I thought I posted it here. http://www.felicite.ca/sample.html

I love tables, tho. They work so nicely for adjusting to whatever size screen the user wants to view the site. Not to say I won't take your advice, I just had a bratty moment there... back now. And listeniing.

Pilgrim

domedia
04-30-2008, 05:01 PM
Not sure how to do this with tables and dropdowns.. might have to use JS for this.