PDA

View Full Version : CMS Content Management System

crazylegsrogers
04-21-2008, 04:13 PM
Hi, I'm being asked to design a website to include CMS and don't really know where to start. This is not something I've been asked to do in the past, I'm fairly new to webdesign as I've only been doing it as a hobby for about 18mths.

If I'm designing a site in CSS for say a letting agent and they want to update the property page themselves, what would be the best way of doing this? Obviously me not updating it myself would save them money and save me time, does any body have any suggestions to help.

Any help would be appriciated, thanks :roll:

Corrosive
04-21-2008, 05:03 PM
Hi

Take a look at www.joomla.org (http://www.joomla.org). It's a CMS programme a bit like Dreamweaver. Some webspace has it built in if you have a cpanel with fantastico suite but you can download it on the site. Good luck!

Cheers

crazylegsrogers
04-21-2008, 05:07 PM
I have come across this site before. It's not very clear as to what i need to do!!

is it free? how does it work?

crazylegsrogers
04-21-2008, 05:09 PM
I cant seem to download anything from that site as the file type is not recognized!!

crazylegsrogers
04-21-2008, 05:14 PM
confused, lots of files but cant seem to make sense of anything. . . . . :o(

Corrosive
04-21-2008, 05:16 PM
I cant seem to download anything from that site as the file type is not recognized!!

OK, couple of things there. Firstly click on the 'download' link on the front page (near the banner at the top). Make sure you are selecting the .zip file to download (assuming you are using Windows) and not the .tar file. I think this might be a Mac thing...but not sure. I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong. Secondly, I believe that it is free and as I said earlier it is certainly free with some web space you can buy.

Corrosive
04-21-2008, 05:20 PM