PDA

View Full Version : Noob Question

mondieu01
04-14-2008, 10:01 PM
I'm new to webdesign so I'm having issues that I am working my way through. One thing that is really annoying me is how the pages expand in Dreamweaver MX. Is there any way I can change the settings of tables so the table doesn't expand vertically as I enter text, insert images or insert other tables? I would like the page to stay the same pixels as I edit the page but it doesn't seem to want to cooperate. What am I missing here? The same thing happens horizontally when I don't hit enter at the end of a cell. I don't have much dreamweaver experience and I am learning some simple html as I go. I will appreciate any tips to alleviate myself of this problem. Thanks,

Rob_Che
04-14-2008, 10:31 PM
Welcome !

Have you set widths and heights for your tables ?

mondieu01
04-14-2008, 10:36 PM
Yeah, I set the both in pixels. I've got one big table that is the page itself. The reason why I didn't use % is because I don't want the graphics in the page to get fruity. I've tried using layers; however, layers also change with different resolution in the browser. It is a site for my local R/C club. The link is www.okefenokeerc.com (http://www.okefenokeerc.com). When I type text into any of the cells, the page expands downward. I would like to insert items in the page and keep the size of the page the same. Take a look at the code and see what I'm doing wrong. Thanks for the reply pal,

mangofreak
04-15-2008, 04:01 AM
Why don;t you try adding a scroll bar on your div where the center text goes and assigning the height. Like this:

<div align="center" style="overflow:scroll; height:400px;">

test it and see how it look on the browser.

d a v e
04-15-2008, 06:40 AM
incidentally how many people have this res?
"This Website is Best Viewed in 1440 by 900 Pixels" i know i don't, and i'm a web designer! ;)

Rob_Che
04-15-2008, 07:42 AM