PDA

View Full Version : file uploading

Nuttz
04-03-2008, 01:11 AM
Hey everyone...I new here...and new to Dreamweaver. I just took a class and have designed a couple simple sites.

My question is...I want to create a way to upload files(with a browse and upload button) from my site to my ftp. I am wanting to do this because I use Autocad files that are sometimes to large to email.

If anyone can point me in the right direction it would help out a lot. I'm using Dreamweaver CS3

Thanks

edbr
04-03-2008, 05:36 AM
use an ftp pogram like fillezilla , free program have to google for it i forget the url

Nuttz
04-03-2008, 11:36 AM
edbr..

Thanks for the info...I'll check it out.

Newin
04-04-2008, 04:18 PM
Yeah, once you download filezilla, just drag and drop the file into the folder you want to files to be, then it'll take some time to upload the files (depends the size of the file)

if you need more help please let me know

Nuttz
04-04-2008, 10:36 PM
I'm not very good at saying what i'm trying to do. I understand that I need a program like descibed above to up upload my files to generate my site, and I have done that. :D

What I don't know how to do is make (code) to have users on my site able to up load files to my server

With a Browse button (which takes you to your local files) and once you find the file you click a Upload button and it puts it on my ftp for me to take off later.

http://www.precision-design.net/contact.htm at the bottom of my page I have a upload link...which takes you to a different page. to where you can upload files. I got that code of the internet some where.

But I can't get it to work.

sorry for the...I am really new at this.

David

edbr
04-05-2008, 01:45 AM
without code no one can help you. however on your upload page you have
<form action="" method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data">which means you have not assigned the action of te form to anywhere

Nuttz
04-05-2008, 01:46 PM
Here is the code I got off the internet.