PDA

View Full Version : Setting up A Logn Page

bilabong
03-21-2008, 01:33 AM
Can some one help me.
I am new to Dreamweaver but am learning fast. I have a website for my wife and I www.daveandpaula.com (http://www.daveandpaula.com) but want to ristict the use of some pages to friends and family only. Can someone here tell me how to set up a login Page and area.

Please please help.

Dave

edbr
03-21-2008, 02:38 AM
to do this you can use a database to allow password and user names for pages or directories. most commonly php mysql.
you could however use .htaccess to restrict but this is not a function in DW

if you go for the database i am sure we can help you if you have any problems

bilabong
03-21-2008, 03:42 AM
Thats just what i want to do . can you help me.?

edbr
03-21-2008, 06:07 AM
if you are really into learning then first step, if you have not used databases before, is to checkout the video tutorials on this site.

all that is needed is a db with username ,password and level (optional) its not difficult but the vids are great at teaching,

neonfluxx
03-21-2008, 06:38 AM
easier option:

Instead of the learning curve, why don't you just restrict access to a directory on your host and place those pages in there. Then you could still limit the access and not have to worry about the login pages.

But if you want to learn with microsoft and asp I recommend www.dmxfire.com . if you want to learn php than this is the place and DJ is the person on that tip.

edbr
03-21-2008, 07:53 AM
[QUOTE][Then you could still limit the access and not have to worry about the login pages./QUOTE]
that would be .htaccess

domedia
03-21-2008, 03:02 PM
yes on an apache server, .htacess with an accompanying .passwd file.

bilabong
03-21-2008, 06:20 PM
Neon, Thanks for your advice. I have watched the Video several time. I have downloaded wampserver but every time i try and open it it says it cannot find the folder.

Can you suggest any thing. I am using your Dreeded Iexplorer.

Dave