PDA

View Full Version : Tables

Brenda
03-12-2008, 06:07 PM
Hi,
I am very new to Dreamweaver - I would like to add a few separate columns but the only way I know how to is to add a Table, however I dont want the borders to appear on the table.

1- is there a better suggestion for separate columns then tables
and
2- how do I get the table not to show any lines?

Thank you:roll:

Rob_Che
03-12-2008, 09:45 PM
Now... people round here don't like tables but I'll answer the question before the coders catch me...

Are the borders showing when you preview it ? (Press F12)
Usually they are set with no borders set but they do show the boundary in the design view...
If they are showing borders in preview then in 'Properties' at the bottom of your page, ensure that Border is set to 0. If they are set for laying out columns then set CellPad & CellSpace to 0 too... have a play to see what they do...

Your homework is to work out what is changing in the script when you make these changes (press F10)

Hope that helps a little - Rob

Brenda
03-12-2008, 09:59 PM
I can totally understand why no-one likes tables.

Thank you for repsonding I did hit the F-10 and my Border was at 1 should have been 0. changed to 0 and it fixed it.

Thanks again you were alot of help.

Rob_Che
03-13-2008, 07:57 AM
Thanks again you were alot of help.

First time for everything ;)

Tables are fine for building sites (I built all mine in tables) but moving away from them now...

d a v e
03-13-2008, 10:30 AM
"Tables are fine for building sites" not any more ;)

davidj
03-13-2008, 10:54 AM
its now the law to use CSS. Anyone found using tables are charged with furniture abuse and are subjected to a Chinese burn

CSS gives you allot more control but you can still have a valid table layout which is accessible. Css is the way to go but no one will give you a wedgie if you use a table here and there.

Rob_Che
03-13-2008, 11:47 AM
"Tables are fine for building sites" not any more ;)

Let me rephrase.