PDA

View Full Version : Newbie checking he's come to the right place

Rob_Che
02-26-2008, 01:09 PM
Hi All...

Newbie here... feel free to give me wedgie or chinese burn :roll:

Just checking this forum is the place for me...
Here's my site: Perfect Pixels (http://www.perfectpixels.biz)

I'm a graphics guy so I'm just learning the ropes with PHP and HTML.
I've been viewing the PHP tutorials (Cheers David!) and looking forward to
seeing more...)

Will my face fit? Just wait til I start asking stupid questions :wink:

Cheers
Rob

Death Dream
02-26-2008, 01:15 PM
Nice site. I hate the moving navigation on 90% of the sites I see using it but it seems nice on your site. But I do hate that pink color lol.

~Death Dream~

Rob_Che
02-26-2008, 01:19 PM
Cheers Death Dream :)

yeah - I need to redo it really... I know what you mean about moving menus - I really hate them and for that reason tried to make one I liked ! I like a challenge. (I think some OSs hate them tho)

I don't like the blurry bits either... I'll sort it.

davidj
02-26-2008, 01:25 PM
Hi Rob

welcome

we dont give wedgie's or chinese burn's here.. just dead legs

I am in Death's camp here

i can see the design aspect here and i like it but that pink is so out of touch with the rest of the site. Im not saying its wrong but it doesnt sit right with me.

also there is a step of a couple of pixels in the pink bit (top left) which throws the design a bit

is nice though

d a v e
02-26-2008, 02:37 PM
the moving menu is bad and here's why

as i scroll down the page i'm looking at the main content, but as my eyes are selectively genetically programmed to detect any movement at - particularly in my peripheral vision (say a big tiger that's might eat me ;) then i just end up going "whoa what's that. oh it's the menu sliding" read a bit more scroll "whoa what's that flickering in my peripheral vision?!" etc

you get the idea (well hopefully): it's damn distracting! (akin to animated gifs flashing all the time)

davidj