PDA

View Full Version : navigation bar ???

kraftypictures.co.uk
02-24-2008, 01:21 PM
as i am very new to dreamweaver i may be biting off more than i can chew here but, i want a vertical navigation bar on the left of my page that scrolls down as site users go down the page. i am able to get a static navigation bar but i want to make it easier for my users to navigate the site. how do i do this please?

thanks in advance trudi

domedia
02-24-2008, 08:32 PM
The rest of the web development world thinks having a regular navigation bar is the best, are you sure you want to do this? :)

In your CSS menu you can set the navigation position to 'fixed' to achieve this.

kraftypictures.co.uk
02-25-2008, 01:16 PM
i like to be different lol my pages are going to be quite long and i would like it easier to move between sections of my site and to be honest thats the only way i can think of doing it unless i have a static bar on the left hand side and the rest of the page moves if you get what i mean

vkw91
02-25-2008, 03:01 PM
^ why that sounds like framesets....NOOOO!

This all sounds very old skool to me! But if your sure thats what you what, domedia is right, just make the nav postion fixed rather than the normal relative.

kraftypictures.co.uk
02-25-2008, 03:09 PM
cheers for the help i will give it a go and let you guys know how it turns out, i may end up doing something different i like to be radical and different with my site

domedia
02-25-2008, 03:20 PM
So you're making your site for yourself to view (keeping a notebook with you would be easier), or for your visitors? ;-)

Let me know if you need help with setting the navigation to position: fixed.

kraftypictures.co.uk
02-25-2008, 04:08 PM
well its my hobby come business website so i want it to be easy to navigate

d a v e
02-25-2008, 07:02 PM