PDA

View Full Version : saving changes view from design to code problem. Plz help.


ranyart
02-18-2008, 03:47 PM
I'm using Dreamweaver 8 and am a relative novice. Suddenly, when I do a "Save As..." or "Save", the page saves then immediately switches from Design View to Code View. When I try to change from code to design view in the "View" menu the design view option is greyed out. I've tried restarting. Problem persists. I haven't changed any settings or anything. Please help!

Harry

kate
02-18-2008, 07:10 PM
Hi,

Uninstall (if convenient) then re-install see if that helps.

d a v e
02-18-2008, 07:15 PM
have you updated DW with the latest patch from the adobe site?

ranyart
02-18-2008, 07:52 PM
Hi

Thx for replying. No, I haven't tried either reinstalling or updating.

Why should either make a difference?

Uninstalling isn't really "convenient" (when is it ever?) as I'm unsure how to set up the settings for my site. It was so long ago that I've forgotton everything I have to do.

Why should not updating with a patch cause this problem in the first place? A program shouldn't change settings just because you don't update it, although gremlins sometimes like to change things;-).

Are there any settings that I can investigate and possibly change without a reinstall or update?

Thx again.

Harry

davidj
02-18-2008, 07:54 PM
try a repair

pop the disk in an see if there is a repair option

ranyart
02-18-2008, 07:58 PM
Hi David

I would do but I don't have a disk I'm afraid.

Harry

davidj
02-18-2008, 08:31 PM
did you download it from the site

download another exe and run it

it should detect the current install and present you with the repair option

d a v e
02-18-2008, 08:41 PM
why would an update work? well because it fixes those sort of issues. of course it might not fix that particular one ;)

try it and see. you should update your version with the latest patch anyway

domedia
02-18-2008, 09:41 PM
Very true.. update=bug fixes
You should always have it updated. Register the software to get important software updates.

ranyart
02-18-2008, 09:54 PM
Ok, I get you. Reinstalling seems a bit drastic but I'll give it a go. Yeah, it was a download. When I reinstall/repair/patch will it keep all my site's files and locations intact?

Is there no easier way to fix this problem.

Thx again

Harry

davidj
02-18-2008, 10:09 PM
if you uninstall it i think it retains that information when you reinstall it

davidj
02-18-2008, 10:12 PM
or you could try a repair where it checks files installed and replaces them with new ones if they are different ie corrupt

ranyart
02-18-2008, 10:19 PM
OK ta. Will try in the morning and get back to u.

Thx

Harry

d a v e
02-19-2008, 07:18 AM
export all your site definitions from within site manager - it's good to back them up first anyway!