PDA

View Full Version : java script menu not showing


jetskiron
02-01-2008, 07:06 AM
I have a table middle left with vertical java script links on my default.asp page that is not showing in DW design view. The java script file main.js is in the root directory. Does Dreamweaver not display javascript?

davidj
02-01-2008, 10:18 AM
yes

are you looking at it in design view?????

you need to view it in code view

domedia
02-01-2008, 02:59 PM
Dreamweaver will render most javascript stuff, but make sure you use your browsers for testing rendering and not design view.

jetskiron
02-03-2008, 09:21 AM
Ok, so does Dreamweaver display a blank table in design view when the code view shows java script?

Heres the javascript from code view:

<td width="30">&nbsp;</td>
<td width="204" bgcolor="#003366"><br>
<script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript1.2" src="main.js"></script>
<br><br><br>

davidj
02-03-2008, 10:04 AM
please post all the code from that page

mangofreak
02-04-2008, 03:24 AM
Post The code of the file called "main.js" which should be on the root directory.

The following code that you posted, is referencing to a javascript file. Post that code:

<script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript1.2" src="main.js"></script>

Clear???

jetskiron
02-06-2008, 05:50 AM
Hello folks,
Sorry for the delay.

Here is the main.js:

stm_bm(["menu2e3f",430,"","blank.gif",0,"","",0,0,250,0,1000,1,0,0,"","",67108905],this);
stm_bp("p0",[1,4,0,0,2,3,0,0,100,"",-2,"",-2,50,0,0,"#999999","#003366","",3,1,1,"#000000"]);
stm_ai("p0i0",[0," Home","","",-1,-1,0,"default.asp","_self","","","","",0,0,0,"","",0,0,0,0,1,"#335C85",0,"#ACB800",0,"","",3,3,1,3,"#1F4770","#1F4770","#FFFFFF","#FFFFFF","bold 10pt Verdana","bold 10pt Verdana",0,0]);
stm_aix("p0i1","p0i0",[0," Free Stuff","","",-1,-1,0,"free.asp","_self","","Ron\'s recommended insurers, FAQs, and other claims websites and links"]);
stm_aix("p0i2","p0i0",[0," Products","","",-1,-1,0,"products.asp","_self","","Ron\'s reports on how to handle auto, home and business claims"]);
stm_aix("p0i3","p0i0",[0," People\'s Choice","","",-1,-1,0,"advice.asp","_self","","View ratings and comments on adjusters, attorneys and insurers left by other visitors"]);
stm_aix("p0i4","p0i0",[0," Ron Cercone ","","",-1,-1,0,"ron.asp","_self","","Ron\'s resume, resources and references"]);
stm_aix("p0i5","p0i0",[0," Feedback ","","",-1,-1,0,"feedback.asp","_self","","Tell us what you think, and what you\'d like to see"]);
stm_aix("p0i6","p0i0",[0," Press Release ","","",-1,-1,0,"PressRelease.asp","_self","","Tell us what you think, and what you\'d like to see"]);
stm_ep();
stm_em();

Thanks,
Ron

jetskiron
02-06-2008, 06:01 AM
Ok, this is using the html "code button to mark it up", I think:


stm_bm(["menu2e3f",430,"","blank.gif",0,"","",0,0,250,0,1000,1,0,0,"","",67108905],this);
stm_bp("p0",[1,4,0,0,2,3,0,0,100,"",-2,"",-2,50,0,0,"#999999","#003366","",3,1,1,"#000000"]);
stm_ai("p0i0",[0," Home","","",-1,-1,0,"default.asp","_self","","","","",0,0,0,"","",0,0,0,0,1,"#335C85",0,"#ACB800",0,"","",3,3,1,3,"#1F4770","#1F4770","#FFFFFF","#FFFFFF","bold 10pt Verdana","bold 10pt Verdana",0,0]);
stm_aix("p0i1","p0i0",[0," Free Stuff","","",-1,-1,0,"free.asp","_self","","Ron\'s recommended insurers, FAQs, and other claims websites and links"]);
stm_aix("p0i2","p0i0",[0," Products","","",-1,-1,0,"products.asp","_self","","Ron\'s reports on how to handle auto, home and business claims"]);
stm_aix("p0i3","p0i0",[0," People\'s Choice","","",-1,-1,0,"advice.asp","_self","","View ratings and comments on adjusters, attorneys and insurers left by other visitors"]);
stm_aix("p0i4","p0i0",[0," Ron Cercone ","","",-1,-1,0,"ron.asp","_self","","Ron\'s resume, resources and references"]);
stm_aix("p0i5","p0i0",[0," Feedback ","","",-1,-1,0,"feedback.asp","_self","","Tell us what you think, and what you\'d like to see"]);
stm_aix("p0i6","p0i0",[0," Press Release ","","",-1,-1,0,"PressRelease.asp","_self","","Tell us what you think, and what you\'d like to see"]);
stm_ep();
stm_em();



Ron

davidj
02-06-2008, 07:02 AM
all thats doing is calling a load of functions

its not giving me any clues here

there must be something missing

jetskiron
02-06-2008, 07:34 AM
thats the entire main.js file. I'l try to attach it.

thanks,
Ron

mangofreak
02-06-2008, 03:47 PM
There is something missing. Or is it just me?????
Is there a link where we can see your page in action?????

jetskiron
02-06-2008, 11:03 PM
Hello Mango,

Yes, go to www.uclaim.com (http://www.uclaim.com) (www dot uclaim dot com).

jetskiron
02-06-2008, 11:08 PM
Mango,

I accidentally sent before I finished typing.

Go to www.uclaim.com (http://www.uclaim.com). The frame on the home page and most pages with the javascript I'm talking about is the frame on the left side with the verticle links: Home, Freestuff, Products, etc.

thanks, Ron

domedia
02-07-2008, 12:44 AM
I accidentally sent before I finished typing. The 'Edit' button is your friend ;)

mangofreak
02-07-2008, 04:21 PM
"I have a table middle left with vertical java script links on my default.asp page that is not showing in DW design view. The java script file main.js is in the root directory. Does Dreamweaver not display javascript?"

The above is your original post. The answer, is yes. DW shows JS but only in Code View. In design view you should see wahtever the javascript code is designed to do, from a fancy animation or just a simple line of text.

THe menu you mention is displayed on the page. The main.js, contains the same stuff.

What do you want to achieve?

I'm all confused now.

The link you gave me looks just fine to me.

jetskiron
02-08-2008, 09:33 AM
Mango,
You wrote " In design view you should see wahtever the javascript code is designed to do"...

I'm not seeing the link buttons in design view. Attached is a screen shot of what I see. Perhaps there is a setting somewhere in DW I need to activate?

And how do I edit a post already made? Don't see the button.


thanks

tux
02-08-2008, 10:27 AM
Ron, you wont see the links in Design view as it is a script. The yellow icon you can see denotes the script. If you click it will see the script in the Property Inspector otherwise you have to view the script in code view.

Hope this helps.

Regards, Paul

tux
02-08-2008, 10:31 AM
Sorry Ron, forgot to answer the edit post question.

When you first submit your post you can edit it. The edit button will be next to the quote button, bottom right of the post.

I think there is a time limit on being able to edit or it maybe until a post is replied to. I'm not sure but Domedia will probably put me right on that.

Regards, Paul

mangofreak
02-08-2008, 12:42 PM
Tux is right. The script will not be displayed as buttons. However if you preview your page on a Browser, the menu should be there.

You have not yet answered to my question: what do you want to achieve?

jetskiron
02-10-2008, 06:48 AM
Thanks folks,

Dreamweaver 6.0 still does not display the names of the links in code view or code editor. It just refers to main.js. So when I open main.js in Notepad, I can see the code with the names of the buttons "Home", "Free Stuff", etc.

Actually what I want to achieve is to edit the descriptions of the links that appear when the mouse is over a link page name. For example the Ron Cercone link mouse over says "Ron's resume, resources and references".

thanks, Ron

tux
02-10-2008, 10:32 AM
Ron, I'm not to up on JS but try this. In the main.js scipt, where you have this....

stm_aix("p0i4","p0i0",[0," Ron Cercone ","","",-1,-1,0,"ron.asp","_self","","Ron\'s resume, resources and references"]);

to change the description change it to this.....

stm_aix("p0i4","p0i0",[0," Ron Cercone ","","",-1,-1,0,"ron.asp","_self","","YOUR NEW DESCRIPTION"]);

.... remember tho' to include a backslash delimiter in front of any apostrophe or the script will flag up an error. Do this to change the other links. Make a copy of your main.js file just in case you go wrong.

Regards, Paul

mangofreak
02-10-2008, 03:57 PM
Tux, you are perfectly right. The descriptions are on the main.js file as you point out.

I'm not sure about the benefit of having the js file separate from the main script because, having the descriptions is part of a better SEO. Since it refers to the content on the page. But that's a new topic.

jetskiron
02-13-2008, 07:52 PM
thanks much folks, that works.

I'm not sure why my original developer did it that way mango, probably to keep me in the dark. I actually told my original developer I wanted them to design my website in Dreamweaver and teach me to edit it, but they said no way. I can't tell you all the headaches I went through with them, yet they advertise they "the best" in Fresno, central California.

thanks again