PDA

View Full Version : marquis available in Dreamweaver?


jetskiron
02-01-2008, 05:58 AM
I don't see a where Dreamweaver 6.0 can create/insert a scrolling marquis (Front Page has one)?

domedia
02-01-2008, 01:54 PM
It's not in DW because it's not part of HTML. It's proprietary code Microsoft made up and only works in IE.

d a v e
02-01-2008, 03:36 PM
you mean one of these http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marquess but scrolling? how weird! :)

domedia
02-01-2008, 04:25 PM
<marquee>Very Funny ;-)</marquee>

Cary
02-02-2008, 06:20 AM
In DW8 the code completion pop-up has marquee and its attributes, but as Domedia pointed out, it's and IE thing. There is some limited support in Firefox. I don't know about other browsers, so its use should be avoided.

But if you must use it...

Firefox ignores the width and height attributes which need to be handled with CSS. It may also be necessary to use position:relative in the styling if the text isn't visible or its appearing or disappearing doesn't seem to line up with the edges of the marquee.

d a v e
02-02-2008, 06:22 AM
have you looked for a scroller on dynamicdrive.com?? might be a better solution

davidj
02-02-2008, 04:17 PM
if you use this then you have to also use the <blink> tag as this is the law

also you have to include at least 12 X 3D animated gif spinning buttons where 1 must depict an envelope or a mailbox to click for mail functions.

its cool also to include as many animated gifs as possible

please use the following for inspiration only so don't rip it off

http://www.aiseikai.or.jp/

Cary
02-02-2008, 08:56 PM
Bud Uglly Design (http://budugllydesign.com/archivebud/bud9806/bud.html) - they do it right.

jetskiron
02-03-2008, 08:30 AM
ok thanks much folks,

I think I'll try to make the marquis in FrontPage and see how it looks in DW and browsers.

davidj
02-03-2008, 09:00 AM
err

you can add them in the code yourself in DW

the above posts were to shame you in not using them but hey... who are we to advise

open dreamweaver, switch to code view and add the marquee tag where you want it dispalyed