PDA

View Full Version : Layout shifts when viewed in explorer

brasstacks
01-18-2008, 04:13 AM
I have constructed a site that has pages that only expand downward. when I fill the main cell with enough copy to need scrolling my menus down the left of the page separate. Artwork was originally done in fireworks. I also notice a slight jump to the left on this page compared to the shorter pages that hold together. Also used background artwork in the expanding cells
Is there a way to lock down my menu cells
Excuse the layman's terms here, I am a graphic designer fairly new to web work

Any help would be appreciated:confused:

Phill

domedia
01-18-2008, 12:59 PM
You're not providing any code or url, so I'm going to guess:
1. You have a table based layout.
2. Some of your TD's needs valign="top"
3. The 'jump' to the left you mention is because of the vertical scrollbar appearing when content is taller than the viewport. This is expected behavior.

If this is completely wrong, I'll let someone else guess ;)

brasstacks
01-18-2008, 04:32 PM
The slight jump in the page when the scrolling bar appears now you mention it is obvious, I should have realized that.
I assigned "top" alignment to all the cells in that column except the bottom cell . It still breaks them apart when viewed in Explorer (no problem in Safari or Opera) I will try a few variations today however it would be great if you could look over the page I have posted.
As a designer I am still getting familiar with the HTML code and besides the obvious it still looks like chinese to me.
Here is the temporary link to the site.
file:///Users/phillipbrassington/Sites/Brasstacks%20Website/AHBY_website/AHBY_about_us.htm
The about us page is the one giving me trouble but as I intend to ad more copy and images to other pages I would like to solve this mistery!

Appreciate it!

Phill

domedia
01-18-2008, 05:09 PM
Here is the temporary link to the site.