PDA

View Full Version : Basic CMS/Joomla help please!!!

Vinnie
01-09-2008, 09:34 PM
Hi guys,

Am really struggling with something and hope you might be able to help me :roll: I'll apologise first as they're prob pretty dumb questions but as a rookie I'll ask away!

1) Is it possible to use e.g. Joomla as a WYSIWIG editor to access and edit a website that was built in Dreamweaver (mx2004) in html? If so, is some sort of code needed on the pages in order for them to be accessed via the frontend/backend (hmm..getting confused on that score too!) :confused:

2) Kind of following on from Q1... to create a news page in a format like this (example site (http://www.peterchapplehyam.com/News/index%20news%20v2.htm)), presumably this uses a MySQL database? Does that mean a basic news page that was built in html would have to be scrapped and replaced with another sort of page e.g. PHP? The one in the example seems to be a .htm page...

3) The site I'm hoping to apply Joomla to is hosted by HU where Joomla can be installed directly onto the server but I don't know WHERE to install it! Is a seperate directory needed? I think if it doesn't go in a directory it replaces the website's existing home page.

The user manual for Joomla appears comparable to War and Peace and I can't seem to find what I'm looking for! It's very frustrating - Joomla looks as though it's really user friendly so the fact that I can't figure it out is doing my head in! :x

Any help/advice/suggestions would be v much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

domedia
01-10-2008, 12:48 PM
Joomla is a CMS, you can not use it as a WYSIWYG editor for another website.

edbr
01-11-2008, 12:28 AM
you seem to be looking at Joomla as an appliation but really it isthe site itself just a way of administering your site (database) .
Joolmla is great for getting a site up quickly but it has limitations , one being that it is not easy to adapt.
There is an extension (free) for dreamweaver to manage Joomla.