PDA

View Full Version : CSS Pain in the ASS

WillBoss
01-07-2008, 04:23 PM
Hi

I have been using dreamweaver for a few years now but I have been buiolding sites using tables. I recently started with CSS layouts but the are just killing me. Dreamweaver doesnt seem to display them correctly and when I view them in the browser they are completely different. Why is working with CSS made so dificult as opposed to working with tables? In a few minutes I can get the layout I want using tables, CSS it can take hours!!

Can someone explain what the problem with Dreamweaver is and how are you supposed to get your layour correct if you cant see it as you work?

Cheers!

m1a2x3x7
01-07-2008, 05:55 PM
See I have the opposite problem I hate using tables and find it much easier to use CSS. Paste your code so we can see what is wrong.

d a v e
01-07-2008, 09:30 PM
what version of DW are you using?

Cary
01-08-2008, 12:57 AM
Whenever you make changes, check how things look in real browsers. As you gain experience you'll know what affect to expect a given styling to have regardless of what DW may be displaying.

DW CS3 is supposed to be pretty accurate. I'm using DW 8 which renders some things correctly while it renders other things much the way IE 6 does.

Electrodesign
01-10-2008, 07:10 AM
I had the same problem and concerns until i tried a new approach.
I found a great tutorial and, while tutorials can be a bit daunting, once the basics were learned it spurred me on to use CSS more, try this tutorial for a basic site which I always use as my starting point
http://www.subcide.com/tutorials/csslayout/index.aspx

Hope this helps

davidj
01-10-2008, 11:22 AM
I have been using dreamweaver for a few years now but I have been buiolding sites using tables. I recently started with CSS layouts but the are just killing me

I sympothise sooo much

im in your camp