PDA

View Full Version : Inserting Flash Video


jmanibusan
12-23-2007, 11:16 PM
hi, i tried to insert a flv file on a webpage but after uploading the page and files, i am still not able to accomplish this. my files are hosted on a godaddy account.

Relative/absolute path is
iseeit360.com/Movie1.flv

please help.

john

davidj
12-24-2007, 09:04 AM
Relative/absolute path is ....


which is it Relative or Absolute

jmanibusan
12-24-2007, 07:03 PM
which is it Relative or Absolute

sorry, path is absolute..

john

jmanibusan
12-24-2007, 07:18 PM
which is it Relative or Absolute

this is what the code looks like.

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0" width="320" height="240" id="FLVPlayer">
<param name="movie" value="FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" />
<param name="salign" value="lt" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="scale" value="noscale" />
<param name="FlashVars" value="&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Clear_Skin_3&streamName=/stanton&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=true" />
<embed src="FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" flashvars="&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Clear_Skin_3&streamName=/stanton&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=true" quality="high" scale="noscale" width="320" height="240" name="FLVPlayer" salign="LT" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" />
</object>


after using ftp to upload files video still doent come up..please help..

rgds.

john

domedia
12-25-2007, 04:45 PM
Not sure if it makes a difference, but those links are not absolute, they are relative.

jmanibusan
12-27-2007, 04:59 AM
Not sure if it makes a difference, but those links are not absolute, they are relative.

thanks domedia for pointing that out. could you please tell me what i'm doing wrong here.page is showing up blank w/ nothing.

<div align="center">
<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0','width','342','height ','291','id','FLVPlayer','src','FLVPlayer_Progress ive','flashvars','&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Halo_Skin_3&streamName=www.iseeit360.com/videos/stanton1&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=true','quality','high','scale','noscale ','name','FLVPlayer','salign','lt','pluginspage',' http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash','movi e','FLVPlayer_Progressive' ); //end AC code
</script>
<noscript>
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0" width="342" height="291" id="FLVPlayer">
<param name="movie" value="FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" />
<param name="salign" value="lt" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="scale" value="noscale" />
<param name="FlashVars" value="&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Halo_Skin_3&streamName=www.iseeit360.com/videos/stanton1&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=true" />
<embed src="FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" flashvars="&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Halo_Skin_3&streamName=www.iseeit360.com/videos/stanton1&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=true" quality="high" scale="noscale" width="342" height="291" name="FLVPlayer" salign="LT" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" />
</object>

domedia
12-27-2007, 02:04 PM
When it comes to paths, the only thing that is important is that it points to where you file actually is. You can do this by using both relative and absolute paths. As I said, I don't know if it makes a difference for you, i just wanted to point out that they were not absolute. Try changing them to absolute full url's and see if it works for you then.

jmanibusan
12-28-2007, 04:24 PM
When it comes to paths, the only thing that is important is that it points to where you file actually is. You can do this by using both relative and absolute paths. As I said, I don't know if it makes a difference for you, i just wanted to point out that they were not absolute. Try changing them to absolute full url's and see if it works for you then.


i will do that. thanks so much for your help and patience..

john

jmanibusan
12-29-2007, 02:41 AM
When it comes to paths, the only thing that is important is that it points to where you file actually is. You can do this by using both relative and absolute paths. As I said, I don't know if it makes a difference for you, i just wanted to point out that they were not absolute. Try changing them to absolute full url's and see if it works for you then.
domedia,

in the url field i have http://www.iseeit360.com/videos/stanton1.flv
stanton1.flv is located in the videos folder
below is the code copied from the split screen and a screen capture of the insert flv window. please help..

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0" width="320" height="240" id="FLVPlayer">
<param name="movie" value="FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" />
<param name="salign" value="lt" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="scale" value="noscale" />
<param name="FlashVars" value="&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Clear_Skin_3&streamName=http://www.iseeit360.com/videos/stanton1&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=true" />
<embed src="FLVPlayer_Progressive.swf" flashvars="&MM_ComponentVersion=1&skinName=Clear_Skin_3&streamName=http://www.iseeit360.com/videos/stanton1&autoPlay=true&autoRewind=true" quality="high" scale="noscale" width="320" height="240" name="FLVPlayer" salign="LT" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" />
</object>


http://www.filefreak.com/pfiles/27022/insert_flv.jpg

domedia
12-30-2007, 08:13 PM
What is the path in your SWF file pointing to your FLV file?

jmanibusan
12-30-2007, 08:39 PM
What is the path in your SWF file pointing to your FLV file?

ok. please forgive me,but i am just using the insert FLV Video and using the clear skin.am i supposed to open the SWF file in FLASH and edit the code? please advise.

jmanibusan
01-06-2008, 04:15 AM
What is the path in your SWF file pointing to your FLV file?

please help..

ok. please forgive me,but i am just using the insert FLV Video and using the clear skin.am i supposed to open the SWF file in FLASH and edit the code? please advise. i've read the help files in DW but still can't figure out how to insert an flv or an swf file.

when i insert i have the file at

URL: /stanton1.flv
Relative to: Site Root

i even tried

URL: iseeit360.com/stanton1.flv
Relative to: Site Root

but it still doesn't show.. please help..

Cary
01-06-2008, 09:00 AM
Your main page has this code:

<script src="Scripts/AC_RunActiveContent.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

However, you didn't copy the Scripts folder to your server. Your code is fine and your flash works. You just need to turn off javascript in the browser as long as the Scripts folder is missing from the server.

neonfluxx
01-06-2008, 04:55 PM
Just an FYI,

But i have had to set the chmod to 777 on several occasions on godaddy in order for the FLV's to work. They set there permissions very low.