PDA

View Full Version : how do you kno if php is installed?


rph105
11-28-2007, 11:47 PM
im using mac osx leopard 10.5 how do i kno if php, mysql and apache are installed and ready to start working with php

neonfluxx
11-29-2007, 04:46 AM
follow the vtm and you will get it

davidj
11-29-2007, 06:43 AM
add a blank file to your PHP directory

write the following

<?php phpinfo(); ?>

note: this is the only code in the file

save it and run it through the browser under http

rph105
11-29-2007, 06:45 AM
follow the vtm and you will get it

whts the vtm?

rph105
11-29-2007, 06:46 AM
add a blank file to your PHP directory

write the following

<?php phpinfo(); ?>

note: this is the only code in the file

save it and run it through the browser under http

wheres my php directory?

davidj
11-29-2007, 07:29 AM
what did you set as your WWW dir when you installed the software

rph105
11-29-2007, 08:35 AM
what did you set as your WWW dir when you installed the software

i installed wamp, didnt ask for a WWW dir and neither did the mysql installer

davidj
11-29-2007, 09:05 AM
i installed wamp, didnt ask for a WWW dir and neither did the mysql installer


im sure there is an option for setting up the Root dir when installing WAMP

anyhoo

setup a dir in My Documents called WEB

inside WEB setup 2 dir's called Remote and Local //<< use these when configuring dreamweaver

now click the WAMP icon in your sys tray and select Alias > New

follow the onscreen instructions and point your new Alias to your new Remote dir you just setup.

now everything that goes into this Remote dir will be processed by the PHP engine.

TIP: now that you have a generic Remote dir setup use project names inside this dir to keep all your work tidy.

example....


Remote /

youtube_project
my site project
clients site project

neonfluxx
11-29-2007, 09:38 PM
if you installed wamp properly than you can click on the wamp symbol in the tray on the bottom right hand corner of your task bar near the time and you will see the word localhost > click that and you will see a place to click on the phpinfo and you will be able to see php is working properly

rph105
11-30-2007, 01:31 AM
when i start up MAMP this shows up, dont know if this is helpful, im new to this world of php, sorry if i sound like a top n00b

neonfluxx
11-30-2007, 01:47 AM
you are ready to go

okay dude you are still not listening watch the MAMP VTM and follow that it tell you everything. You are making this to hard . My 13 year old did it following that vtm.