PDA

View Full Version : joomla component install message...


stephenh
11-18-2007, 07:33 PM
Hello,
have just started out a site using joomla for first time (gee it's fun the joomla learning curve) and am getting conflicting forum suggestions about either changing dir. permission settings to 777 v changing ownership setting so for now I am just going to upload using dreamweaver.

My question is basic so I hope you guys can help. In the past I have used DW just to access my site and change webpages.

Now I have to upload component files I have downloaded to my machine.
I can find the path in my server file list where I need to upload to and know how to get the remote and local double page up and showing but am not sure about how to upload to that path?

Do I need to download all of the files from remote to my local so I can then save the component to that and then upload, tif so thois will take along time as there is a lot of subfolders already installed on the site?
Any help much appreciated,
:smile:
Cheers
Stephen

edbr
11-19-2007, 01:25 AM
I would solve the permissions issue and thed upload components using Joomla, defeats the purpose otherwise. However I would also have a local copy of the site so any changes are a direct upload

davidj
11-19-2007, 02:15 PM
never hook Dreamweaver up to a live machine

your live site should be administered independently

stephenh
11-19-2007, 06:50 PM
Thank You
S