PDA

View Full Version : How do you set up Time Delays in DW

Gemsbok
11-16-2007, 09:38 AM
This is probably a simple problem with a simple solution but it really is bugging me how to do it.

I'm new to DW and i'm making a template for my site. It has nav bars, some button behaviours and hidden layers.

On each of my nav bar buttons i have MouseUP and MouseOver behaviours and they all link to another webpage when clicked.

I have also put a OnClick behaviour which shows a hidden layer which has a flash movie in it which plays automatically when the layer is displayed.

The movie is quite simply pawprints which walk across the screen (i've even used wmode-transparent parameter).

It looks good but what i'm after is that when you press a nav bar button i want the layer to open and the pawprints to walk across the page then the next webpage loads up.

This doesn't happen. You press the button and before the flash files starts its already linked to the next webpage.

Is there anyway of delaying the next webpage loading up just so the flash movie can play out. (i'm looking for a 4 second delay)

Remember i'm a beginner so please don't be too technical. I've looked at Set Timeout, OnUnload and i'm just confused.

Please Help Me...

davidj
11-16-2007, 10:01 AM
assign the page request to the footprints animation instead of the nav bar

you will have to pass the link in as a variable

you will need some coding knowledge to do this howver its not too difficult

Gemsbok
11-16-2007, 10:11 AM
I don't really have any coding knowledge, i know small bits of HTML.

How would i go about putting some relevant code into Flash.

Any help would be great

davidj
11-16-2007, 10:14 AM
some one will have to do this for you then.

any flash guys out there who can help with this...?

try asking in the job forum

domedia
11-16-2007, 11:31 AM
In flash, look in the action script panel for the Basic Function called getURL{}

Gemsbok
11-16-2007, 11:38 AM
Thanks for the advice.