PDA

View Full Version : question about onchange=...

jewellman
10-24-2007, 03:46 PM
I recently viewed an excellent (2 Part) tutorial by David J. regarding Drop Down Menus. It dealt with Car Makes and Car Models. I followed it through several times and tried setting it up like he said to. However, I am stuck on the onchange="document.forms[0].submit()" line...

David mentioned that it dealt with a javascript but didn't go over the code in the tutorial. I would like to know what I need to do to make the onchange= statement work. When I try and select an item from the Car Make drop down on my php page- www.wellmantechnologies.com/vehicles_search.php (http://www.wellmantechnologies.com/vehicles_search.php) it just hangs there and I assume it's b/c of the lack of a javascript...

BTW, I am new to php and mysql and have 0 javascript experience. Just trying to learn the basics and thought this tutorial was something I could build on...

Thanks in advance for any help.:grin: :grin:

Jimmy

P.S. Here is the entire code-

<?php
require_once("Connections/test.php"); // database connection

$Make = $_POST['Make'];
if ($Make) {

///////////////////////////////////////////////
$query = sprintf("SELECT * FROM Model where Model_Id='$Make'");
$result = @mysql_query($query);
$rowModel = @mysql_fetch_array($result);
//////////////////////////////////////////////

}
?>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>

<body>

<form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="vehicles_search.php">

<select name="Make" onchange="document.forms[0].submit()">
<option value="" selected>Select Make</option>
<option value="1">Audi</option>
<option value="2">BMW</option>
<option value="3">Chevrolet</option>
<option value="4">Dodge</option>