PDA

View Full Version : Looking for new HOST

Karkar
10-23-2007, 01:24 PM
Hi guys. I have decided that I really need to move my website from the current Microsoft server that it's on to a linux server so I can get your help on connecting to the my database so i can execute scripts whe i write them.

Could you recommened a host for me that i can be guided connecting my mysql db?

Thanks guys

domedia
10-23-2007, 02:10 PM
If you go to the homepage there's a few sponsors of the site in the left side column *coughcough* ;-)

2 general rules I have on hosting:
1. Stay away from 1and1 if you need support (which are going to need eventually)
2. If they offer 100% uptime, stay away.

Karkar
10-23-2007, 02:32 PM
i looked on the homepage under sponsors and there isn't anything there?

domedia
10-23-2007, 05:16 PM
My fault there was an error on the homepage.

fwr1000
10-23-2007, 05:40 PM
I have been using Startlogic (one of the sponsors) for over two years for 5 different sites. Have had excellent results and very responsive support when needed. They have Linux w/PHP as well as windows servers. Highly recommend (at least by me).

domedia
10-23-2007, 06:51 PM
hmm... maybe I should put together a member recommended list of hosting companies (hat offer a finders fee for DWC).. would be a nice way of changing red number for this website to green ones.. Hosting companies usually pay well for leads.

Karkar
10-24-2007, 04:07 AM
sounds cool. gonna get right on to switching. Thanks!

edbr
10-24-2007, 05:21 AM
maybe I should put together a member recommended list of hosting companies
sounds like a good idea if it helps to pay for this forum. if you write a proposal I would be happy to send it to a couple and see what they say.

domedia
10-24-2007, 01:39 PM
Ed, what were you thinking of when you say 'proposal'? I'm interested.
I was thinking of a page where we list a couple of hosting companies that is in use by members, and thus gotten a kind of 'approval'.

davidj