PDA

View Full Version : Some W3 Errors


rph105
10-18-2007, 07:04 PM
ok checked my sites homepage on the w3.org page to validate it. i would like to get rid of the first 2 main "Potential errors" 'Unable to determine parse mode' and 'no doctype found'. check the errors here (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.realproperlayouts.com%2 F&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0)

if anyone could help me with these errors please, also i have checked the source code on safari and for some reason its really short, does anyone know why that is.

the website btw is www.realproperlayouts.com

Appreciate anyone who doesnt mind helping me out

Cary
10-19-2007, 01:04 AM
Your missing doctype is the first line.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<meta NAME="robots" CONTENT="NOINDEX,FOLLOW">
</head>
<frameset rows="99%,1" border="0">
<frame name="site" src="http://www.realproperlayouts.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk ">
<frame name="invisible" noresize>
</frameset>....

Cary
10-19-2007, 01:07 AM
also i have checked the source code on safari and for some reason its really short, does anyone know why that is.


This is because you are using frames. All the content is contained in other pages.

rph105
10-19-2007, 02:07 AM
Your missing doctype is the first line.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<meta NAME="robots" CONTENT="NOINDEX,FOLLOW">
</head>
<frameset rows="99%,1" border="0">
<frame name="site" src="http://www.realproperlayouts.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk ">
<frame name="invisible" noresize>
</frameset>....

how do i add that doc type to it, coz in the full code, not the framed code, the doctype is there?

Cary
10-19-2007, 03:04 AM
how do i add that doc type to it, coz in the full code, not the framed code, the doctype is there?

Supposing that this is how your "full code" begins...

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html lang="en">
<head>

<title>Real Proper Layouts BETA v.2 - The Place For The Rest Of Those Layouts...</title>
</head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">

<link href="styles/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function MM_swapImgRestore() { //v3.0 ....

....then I would guess you are using some kind of URL masking which is placing your site inside a frame to hide the real url which is http://www.realproperlayouts.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/

You can't add the doctype to the page you gave us the link to if you don't have access to that frameset code, so use the real url above to validate your page.

rph105
10-19-2007, 01:02 PM
Supposing that this is how your "full code" begins...

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html lang="en">
<head>

<title>Real Proper Layouts BETA v.2 - The Place For The Rest Of Those Layouts...</title>
</head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1">

<link href="styles/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function MM_swapImgRestore() { //v3.0 ....

....then I would guess you are using some kind of URL masking which is placing your site inside a frame to hide the real url which is http://www.realproperlayouts.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/

You can't add the doctype to the page you gave us the link to if you don't have access to that frameset code, so use the real url above to validate your page.

ok thank you so much, this makes so much more sense now im using the real url, i've got this "no character encoding error' http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.realproperlayouts.pwp.b lueyonder.co.uk&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0 would you happen to know how to fix this?

Cary
10-20-2007, 06:20 AM
The validator doesn't see the character encoding meta tag in your page because it expects to find all meta tags in the head of the html.

For some reason your page has two closing head tags one in the correct location after the scripts and such, but before the opening body tag, and the one seen in the code above right after your title. Remove that one and then revalidate.