PDA

View Full Version : Image won't show up, please help...


bbelack
10-15-2007, 07:59 PM
Ok. So, I'm an actor and I'm about to start emailing my demo around to prospective agents. I realized that many offices block video, so I converted the .mov file to flash. I've been editing the html file, which is attached as a .txt file, to personlize it. For example, I changed the background to black. Now, I also decided to insert an image which also would hyperlink to my site. The image is my logo. The linking aspect functions fine, but the image does not show up. I can't figure it out. The image is named "bennyb.gif" in the code, and I did upload it online. To actually view what I'm speaking of go to http://www.benbelack.com/movies/demo/demo6.htm
Please feel free, if you can fix it, to edit the code in the attached html file and send it back to me. I can't quite figure it out.

Jittor
10-15-2007, 08:42 PM
looking at your code I am guessing that you uploaded your image in the wrong spot, or have the code for the image wrong. your code states that it is looking for your image in these folders:

/AppData/Roaming/Macromedia/Dreamweaver 8/Configuration/ServerConnections/benbelack1.com/www/pictures/

I don't think that is correct. That's way to long and I don't think you would put an image that deep in folders and in an application folder.

What folder is your image in on your FTP?

bbelack
10-15-2007, 08:46 PM
looking at your code I am guessing that you uploaded your image in the wrong spot, or have the code for the image wrong. your code states that it is looking for your image in these folders:

/AppData/Roaming/Macromedia/Dreamweaver 8/Configuration/ServerConnections/benbelack1.com/www/pictures/

I don't think that is correct. That's way to long and I don't think you would put an image that deep in folders and in an application folder.

It's on my site. The location of the image is "http://www.benbelack.com/pictures/bennyb.gif"

I dragged the image over, from the FTP controller box in the bottom right corner of Dreamweaver. I don't understand why it would think the file was local.

Can you tell me what I should do?

Jittor
10-15-2007, 08:51 PM
if it is in...say..your "pictures" folder your link would be:

.../pictures/bennyb.gif

or

http://www.benbelack1.com/pictures/bennyb.gif

Jittor
10-15-2007, 08:54 PM
Try:


<img src="http://www.benbelack.com/pictures/bennyb.gif" width="476" height="49" longdesc="bennyb">\


or


<img src="../pictures/bennyb.gif" width="476" height="49" longdesc="bennyb">\

bbelack
10-15-2007, 08:56 PM
if it is in...say..your "pictures" folder your link would be:

.../pictures/bennyb.gif

or

http://www.benbelack1.com/pictures/bennyb.gif

Ok..it shows up. But it lost the link functionality.

Take a look: http://www.benbelack.com/movies/demo/demo7.htm

I attached the updated file

Jittor
10-15-2007, 09:02 PM
opps sorry about that:

<a href="http://www.benbelack.com"><img src="http://www.benbelack.com/pictures/bennyb.gif" width="476" height="49" longdesc="bennyb"></a>

Try that

Jittor
10-15-2007, 09:04 PM
Also, you have:

<a href="http://www.benbelack.com"></a>

3 time before your image code. This is not necessary and should be removed. Just add the code I just provided.

Jittor
10-15-2007, 09:06 PM
Ohh, I would recommend adding player controls to your flash player. Not having them pisses talent scouts off. Trust me, I know on this one.

bbelack
10-15-2007, 09:08 PM
opps sorry about that:

<a href="http://www.benbelack.com"><img src="http://www.benbelack.com/pictures/bennyb.gif" width="476" height="49" longdesc="bennyb"></a>Try that

The link is working, but there is a blue outline around it... How do I remove that?

www.benbelack.com/movies/demo/demo8.htm

bbelack
10-16-2007, 07:11 AM
Ohh, I would recommend adding player controls to your flash player. Not having them pisses talent scouts off. Trust me, I know on this one.

Ok...The current file is http://www.benbelack.com/movies/demo/demo7.htm

What I don't understand is how it's aligned in firefox, but not in IE.

Please help!!!

The text is attached....

Thanks

domedia
10-16-2007, 01:37 PM
Looks fine in my IE, only the movie does not load.

bbelack
10-16-2007, 07:19 PM
Looks fine in my IE, only the movie does not load.

Does it autoplay in IE for you now?

domedia
10-16-2007, 08:00 PM
Nope it doesn't. You know you are calling a different swf file for IE and FF?
<param name="movie" value="swf_player.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#000000" />
<embed src="20071014193411.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#000000"

bbelack
10-16-2007, 08:34 PM
Nope it doesn't. You know you are calling a different swf file for IE and FF?
<param name="movie" value="swf_player.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<param name="bgcolor" value="#000000" />
<embed src="20071014193411.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#000000"

Ok...try now and let me know....

:)

domedia
10-16-2007, 08:55 PM
You're still calling the same 2 swf files.
Do you have both FF and IE to test with?

bbelack
10-16-2007, 08:57 PM
You're still calling the same 2 swf files.
Do you have both FF and IE to test with?

Yes. Please clear your cache and try again! It should definitely work.

domedia
10-16-2007, 08:58 PM
Nope it doesn't :-(
Can you see from the source of your web page that you are calling 2 different swf files?
http://www.benbelack.com/movies/demo/swf_player.swf
http://www.benbelack.com/movies/demo/20071014193411.swf
one for IE and for FF

btw: are you Belack himself?

bbelack
10-16-2007, 09:07 PM
Nope it doesn't :-(
Can you see from the source of your web page that you are calling 2 different swf files?
http://www.benbelack.com/movies/demo/swf_player.swf
http://www.benbelack.com/movies/demo/20071014193411.swf
one for IE and for FF

btw: are you Belack himself?

Yes, I am. I'm sure I corrected that problem. I don't see anywhere in the file that is happening. The code is attached. Please feel free to edit it and send it back.

Cary
10-17-2007, 12:14 AM
Is there documentation someplace online for how to use swf_player.swf controls with .swf videos? The video plays in Firefox and IE6, but the controls are not showing up in Firefox. Without the documentation this would be easier to solve if you could convert the demo video to .flv instead.

32bit png images with alpha transparency don't work in IE6. Here's an 8-bit png you could use with any dark color background. The text is a little jaggy in IE6, but at least the grey box will be gone.

domedia
10-17-2007, 12:52 PM
Not sure about the documentation, but the video show up in IE and FF now.