PDA

View Full Version : Validate Form Issue

aargus07
10-06-2007, 03:47 AM
In DW8, after adding a validate from behavior to
the submit button, any List/Menu pulldown will
not appear so that one can cehck it as required.
All other field types seem to appear OK

??

Dan

Jittor
10-15-2007, 08:10 PM
This has been an issue with DW for sometime, not sure why it does that. I have seen posts like this before and most would recommend using PHP to validate your form. I'm not a PHP expert so i can't really help with that, but maybe it will point you in the right direction

neonfluxx
10-16-2007, 12:54 AM
most would recommend using PHP to validate your form.

That is your answer

davidj
10-16-2007, 07:11 AM
it depends on what your validating

if you checking to see if a required field is keyed its advisable to use JS as the submit should fail. Sending an incomplete form to the server when you know its invalid is a waste of server processing. You could even use a mask to make sure the entry complies with any formating rules.

i initially use JS to make sure any rules are followed. I still add some server side validation even though i have used JS as i want to catch those people who have JS switched off but by doing both i am saving the server load 99% of all submissions and still validating the 1% left by using the server.

so the answer is both

Jittor
10-16-2007, 04:22 PM
That is your answer

no, that was part of my answer. If you read the rest I did state that I am not a PHP expert!. I was repeating what I have read in other posts. Some say to use JS some say PHP. Some say not JS because it can be enabled rendering your validation useless so I went with PHP.