PDA

View Full Version : What's Everyone's Perferred Method for Laying Out your Site?

domi0036
10-02-2007, 07:26 PM
I'm very new, so bear with me a bit please....

But, like the title says, what has everyone found to be the best (I realize this is probably personal preferance) way to lay out your site?

Since I'm new to Dreamweaver, it seems like using layout tables, then CSS on top of that seems like the way to go, but, being as I'm new, CSS is still pretty tough for me.

What about everyone else? How do yall start your sites when starting from scratch?

Jittor
10-02-2007, 07:29 PM
I uses Div's and CSS, no tables for me. Once I started learning CSS I dropped the tables and never looked back, but up until then I used tables until I was ready to move to CSS.

edbr
10-03-2007, 12:58 AM
Once I started learning CSS I dropped the tables and never looked back,
me too but it would be better to start with divs

Jittor
10-03-2007, 01:27 PM
I agree, but I didn't have the knowledge back then, and was just trying to grasp HTML and tables were just easier. When I was comfortable with HTML I moved to CSS, now I'm working on PHP.

domi0036
10-03-2007, 01:34 PM
So you don't think I should use tables at all? just start with div tags? Don't your run into problems with div tags because you can't absolute position things?

So, it sounds like yall agree CSS is the best way, any tips on getting more comfortable with CSS?

domedia
10-03-2007, 02:14 PM
So you don't think I should use tables at all? just start with div tags? Yes
Don't your run into problems with div tags because you can't absolute position things? You can position things exactly how you want with CSS. Tables are restrained to your table cell structure, divs are not.

So, it sounds like yall agree CSS is the best way, any tips on getting more comfortable with CSS? Read through some tutorials, ask questions, and you're on your way to web design heaven :)

Jittor
10-03-2007, 02:25 PM