PDA

View Full Version : How did everyone get their start/education?

domi0036
09-26-2007, 04:51 PM
Hey, I'm new but I searched for this particular topic, didn't see anything, so....here's my question:

How did everyone get the necessary background to design and develop their websites?

Personally, I graduated from the U of MN 5 years ago with an International Business degree, since then I've been working in Mortgages (which isn't very exciting) working on our marketing. Well, i've been trying to improve our website(s) and the deeper and deeper I get into web design/development, the more I've learned I really enjoy it. Now I have 15+ web ideas I'd like to get started as I feel they all have great earning potential. I'd much rather give up my day job and do this kind of work fulltime, but alas, I lack the knowledge.

So, my question is, can I pick this information up through tutorials and trial/error, or is this something I need to go back to school for? What if I want to get employed full time doing web design? Do I need certain qualifications?

I bit the bullet and purchased Adobe CS3, I've gone through the lynda.com dreamweaver cs3 essentials training, and I feel I have a real general background, what do you recommend I do now?

Sorry for the all the questions, I'm just so excited to have finally found a potential profession I'm actually interested in! Thanks in advance for any help.

domedia
09-26-2007, 05:37 PM
Hi Domi and welcome to the forums!
I'm going to answer these question with my background, I think you'll get different views thought from different members.