PDA

View Full Version : Loading a template

owner
09-20-2007, 12:52 PM
Hello,

I am trying to load a template with html code and then the data is just inserted from the database.

Example:

$function .= "<tr>
<td class=\"darkrow1\" colspan=\"8\"><b>{$this->ipsclass->lang['announce_start']}</b></td>
</tr>

See how stuff is inserted like this ({$this->ipsclass->lang['announce_start']})

How do you do this? I am a bit confused on this. Is their a tutorial somewhere to get the basics down of this?

Thank you,
-Owner

davidj
09-20-2007, 01:52 PM
its produced using a CLASS (OOP)

you need to study functions and then look at php OOP

http://www.codewalkers.com/c/a/Programming-Basics/Beginning-Object-Oriented-Programming-in-PHP/

owner
09-20-2007, 09:53 PM
Davidj, I get what OOP is, and I get how the class and the function works. I am just new to it. I get the basics of OOP.

I don't want to be mean, but for some reason it seems like you think that I don't get 1 general thing about it. :(

owner
09-20-2007, 11:51 PM
Ok, I am super close.

I have a test.php file

Then inside I have

<?php
function test($links="") { //My function with the argument
$HTML = ""; //Get rid of any data if any stored in here
//Yay, html time below!
$HTML .= "<table width=\"25%\" border=\"1\">
<tr>
<td>{$links}</td>
</tr>
</table>";
//end of html
return $HTML; //Send the html with the variable inserted
}
?>Now, what should happen is when this script is initialized, my variable $test should fill in what value it has in the table. My question is, how could I call this in my function without using include (''); The reason I don't want to use include is I will have a ton of little sections like this, and I want them all to be loaded, so what would be the best way to load these up?

Summery: I just need to know howto load this file that I have here in my function. I can do the everything else, but I just don't know where to start to actually grab the info out of this file.

Thank you
-Owner

davidj