PDA

View Full Version : help on how to include site map on website??


gg2327
09-07-2007, 05:15 PM
i read that you have to do a sitemap for your website to help the spiders index it so i did the usual stuff in dreamweaver and then saved it. this thing became a sitemap.bmp file which i tried to copy and paste in my page allocated for site map and it didn't work. how do i incorporate the site map into my website. my website is almost complete now thanks to help from people in this forum and others:mrgreen: :mrgreen:

domedia
09-07-2007, 09:31 PM
You don't need a sitemap usually for google to spider your site. If you use regular links, the google bot will be able to crawl through all your page.

A sitemap is a page with a link to all your pages. It's not a graphic, it's has to be regular links.

fwr1000
09-07-2007, 11:32 PM
If you want to include one, this like will help you create a site map. It's from Google.
https://www.google.com/accounts/ServiceLogin?service=sitemaps&passive=true&nui=1&continue=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2Fwebmasters% 2Ftools%2Fsiteoverview&followup=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2Fwebmasters% 2Ftools%2Fsiteoverview

Fred

gg2327
09-08-2007, 01:18 AM
You don't need a sitemap usually for google to spider your site. If you use regular links, the google bot will be able to crawl through all your page.

A sitemap is a page with a link to all your pages. It's not a graphic, it's has to be regular links.

oh ok. thanks domedia i shan't bother then. one less thing to do.:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
and thanks for the link fwr. i will keep that in my folder of things to do when i'm not busy.:-D

chriskq
09-08-2007, 09:29 AM
site maps are just a good way to let visitors see the hierachy of your website and parent and child sections. serves more use when its a larger type of site.
i just do them now out of habit.

domedia
09-08-2007, 06:39 PM
It's also very useful if you use JS for your navigation. Since spiders can't crawl these links, the sitemap gives them access to all pages.